Redesigning Man

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. Psalm 139:13-14 ESV

Coming back today from visiting the Arizona Memorial we had to catch a flight from Oahu back to Kauai where we are staying. One thing I tend to do in airports is buy magazines I rarely read. Today I purchased a photography magazine and a copy of the latest Popular Science, October 2012.  Popular Science is one of those magazines I cab take or leave, mostly leave but this issue had a drawing of the US Navy’s newest stealth destroyer the Zumwalt.

As I was reading through the magazine I came upon an article titled Human Resources, Can we re-engineer ourselves to cope with climate change? Essentially it was some what ifs from a NYU bioethics professor and colleagues Two of the ideas were to use in-vitriol fertilization to produce shorter people or maybe to develop drugs to cause people to be allergic to red meat. Both would help limit our impact on the environment.

While admitting how preposterous these and other ideas are they still pleased withe these “thought experiments.” What bothers me is if and when something like this is actually proposed, who will make the decisions to move forward? In other words, who will play God? And what about those who do not want to go along?

When men try to mess or improve on what God created we always end up in trouble. Someone gets hurt and those making the decisions for others always get exempted from the changes. Personally if God thought His creation was good then that is good enough for me. I will take my chances with God, leave me out of the better designed man I can only see trouble there.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Comentary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

