That you bear much fruit

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love. If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full. John 15:7-11

Whenever we try to interpret God’s Word we always need to use the verses around the verse in question. When we take His Words out of context we increase the possibility of making an error. Christians have used too many verses out of context to justify their personal agendas from slaver to mistreatment of women. But taking God’s Word out of context also leads to heretical teachings.  One such is the name it and Claim it or the Health and Wealth movements that seem so popular on TV but also in our pulpits.

If we take the first sentence in today’s verses it would seem to say that God is ready to give us anything we ask if only we believe in Jesus and read the Bible. Do that and God is just waiting on you to ask and He will give you anything. But if we would only read the next sentence we see what Jesus is talking about, that we bear much fruit. He isn’t talking about personal gain but in spiritual gain, bringing others to know the Lord.

That is true wealth, bringing new souls to God. Helping others see what an eternity with God is and how receiving Jesus into their lives will change them for the better here on earth and for all eternity.  We need to pray that God will put opportunities to share our faith before us. We need to pray that God will help us live our lives as an example of how Jesus has changed us. We need to be a living Bible for the world to read. Those are the things we need to be asking God for.

Does that mean we should not ask for our needs to be fulfilled? Of course not, God knows we have monetary and health needs and he is there to fulfill those needs. What we need to do is differentiate between our needs and our wants. If you are like me the wants always greatly exceed my needs. And healing?  We need to pray for healing but we also need to recognize that sometimes the illness we have is there to instruct us and to make us realize that we need God’s strength to get by. Always remember that every healing here on earth is only temporary. The real healing comes in the next life.

In today’s verses, Jesus is not handing us a blank check so we can get everything we want from God. He is telling us that when we are in Him we will bear much fruit. We will be able to show others the glory of Christ and what is in store for everyone who believes in Him. We need to pray to the God of the universe not like we are praying to Santa Claus but in Hid will. When we pray in His will, He will deny us nothing.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

