He will convict the world

“I did not say these things to you from the beginning, because I was with you. But now I am going to him who sent me, and none of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’ But because I have said these things to you, sorrow has filled your heart. Nevertheless, I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away, for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you. But if I go, I will send him to you. And when he comes, he will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment: concerning sin, because they do not believe in me; concerning righteousness, because I go to the Father, and you will see me no longer; concerning judgment, because the ruler of this world is judged. John 16:4b-11

Ever notice how when someone is doing something wrong they always want to entice others to follow them? In fact, even though they feel guilty about what they are doing they will vehemently deny any wrong doing. What is going on is that most of us, in fact almost everyone knows right from wrong. We all have God’s moral law etched in our being.

This is the work of the Holy Spirit. He is with us to convict the world. We all know there is right and wrong but if we can get enough people to agree with what we are doing then we can smugly say everything is relative. There are no absolutes. What is right for you is not necessarily right for me. Don’t impose your view of morality on me. And of course the ultimate response, you are an intolerant hater and bigot.

As a kid I can remember telling my parents, everybody is doing it, as if that somehow made it right. What we find today is the adults telling society, everybody is doing it so it must be right. We are turning into a world of arrested adolescences.  Always doing what feels good and ignoring any consequences. And when the consequences come to past, it is someone else’s fault not our own.

Unfortunately, there are more than earthly consequences to our actions. There are eternal ones also. Paul tells us that we are without excuse. God has written His law on our hearts and He has shown us His glory in the universe. But, he has also given us His Word an eyewitness account of what Jesus did on earth as well as what we need to do to ensure our eternal destiny. When we ignore all the directions God has given us to get us to heaven it is on us. When we put our own pleasures and desires above God’s will we have no one to blame but ourselves.

When we go on a trip and ignore all the road signs and end up in the wrong place or lost we can’t blame the automaker or the government. It is our fault. The signs to get us to heaven are there, all we need to do is follow them and they will lead us straight to God.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

