Jesus saw his mother

So the soldiers did these things, but standing by the cross of Jesus were his mother and his mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene. When Jesus saw his mother and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to his mother, “Woman, behold, your son!” Then he said to the disciple, “Behold, your mother!” And from that hour the disciple took her to his own home. John 19:24b-27

That Jesus cared about others is evident throughout His ministry but for me it is most evident in today’s verses. Jesus is nailed to a cross dying one of the most agonizing deaths the Romans could come up with and He is worried about His mother.

I wish I could say I would be that concerned about someone else in a similar situation but I am afraid I would be too concerned with me to think about someone else. Jesus was always thinking about others. That is why He came to earth. It is really simple; everyone you know will at some point let you down. Yes, some will stand by you better than others but everyone will disappoint you. There will come a time when they will not be there when you need them. That is true for your spouse, mother, father, brothers and sisters and your friends and co-workers. They will all let you down.

Only Jesus will always be there for you. He promised He would never leave us or forsake us and He keeps His promises. When times are good He is there and when things go wrong there He is. Unlike those around us, Jesus will always be there. He will always love us and He always has good in store for us. We can always count on Jesus.

Rest assured that the man who while hanging on a cross was concerned that someone take care of His mother will be there in your greatest hour of need. He is there to comfort you and He is there to save you. All you need do is ask Him into your life. Jesus stands knocking on the door and all you need do is invite Him in.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus saw his mother

  1. Shelly says:

    It is very comforting to know that He is always there for me and there is nothing I have to face alone!

Leave a Reply

