I am going fishing

After this Jesus revealed himself again to the disciples by the Sea of Tiberius, and he revealed himself in this way. Simon Peter, Thomas (called the Twin), Nathanael of Cana in Galilee, the sons of Zebedee, and two others of his disciples were together. Simon Peter said to them, “I am going fishing.” They said to him, “We will go with you.” They went out and got into the boat, but that night they caught nothing. John 21:1-3

I love reading about Peter, he is so much like us. He sounds just like someone from East Texas. Things get a little confusing so off he goes fishing. Wet a line and just chill. No worries and no cares. Now of course Peter was a little different from the fishermen I know in that fishing was his livelihood before he started following Jesus. Still, he has just seen the risen Christ and what is his reaction, he goes fishing. He does something familiar.

Sometimes we too can get overwhelmed by circumstances. Rather than react, just maybe we need to go “fishing”. We need to get our heads clear before we make a critical decision. Take a few moments to think things out. When we make hasty decisions we can often regret them. If we fire off an email before we take time to think it can have hurtful consequences. I know when I get comments to my blog many times I will take time to respond. Most time this is so I can give a cogent reply but sometimes I need to make sure I don’t respond in anger or sarcasm. Neither is proper response.

Now I don’t fish, but I do have other hobbies. Maybe I will take my camera outside or go through my photos to see which are keepers and which need to be deleted. Other times I may just pick up a book or magazine to take my mind off the problem. Many times I will go on a search for an answer to the question posed on my blog. Then when my mind is right or I have the information I need, I will reply.

As Christians we have a duty to reply to questions and circumstances with love. When we do otherwise we run the risk of alienating others. When we do that how are we being good disciples? Rather than bring them to Christ we cause them to run the other way. And for those who don’t believe we miss an opportunity to raise questions in their minds. Questions that one day may lead them to Jesus.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

