God created man in his own image

Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, after our likeness. And let them have dominion over the fish of the sea and over the birds of the heavens and over the livestock and over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.” So God created man in his own image, in the image of God he created him; male and female he created them. Genesis 1:26-27

What does the Bible mean when it tells us we are created in the image of God? Some would have us believe that God looks just like us, two arms and legs, head, eyes and hands and feet. The Mormon view is that God is an exalted man and was once just like us. But the Bible clearly tells us that God is spirit. A spirit does not have a body so how are we created in God’s image? There is more to us than the mere physical.

God is intelligent. He is rational. He has free will. He creates. God gave each of us these same attributes. We have a mind and we are capable of complex thought. We are rational beings even when we do not act rationally all the time. We can reason things out. We are creative. In fact humans are the only truly creative animals on earth. We create works of art that have no survival purpose. We make up stories to entertain ourselves and others. We build things not because we need to but because they please us.

Finally we have free will. We make choices as to how to live our lives. Now a real atheist will tell us that we have no free will that it is an illusion. We are only prisoners of our DNA. But does my DNA cause me to go to a museum rather than a ballgame? Does my DNA make me take a plane rather than drive to my destination. Actually did someone’s DNA cause them to build the plane I fly on? What about an irrational choice that may put me in harm’s way? Do I blame that on DNA? If so then I am absolved of all responsibility for my choices. My DNA made me do it. Just a more modern form of the devil made me do it.

We also chose to believe in God of not believe in Him. Where in the atheist’s DNA does his unbelief lie. Where does my belief lie? No, we make choices all the time. To say we have no free will and everything is caused by the DNA we have is just another way of passing the buck, of not taking responsibility for our lives. God gives each of us the ability to choose to follow Him or to reject Him. We can embrace the image we have been endowed with or reject it. Even though we are made in His image God gives us a choice to follow Him. He gave us a reasoning mind to make that choice and the evidence to lead us to Him. All we need do is open our mind to the reality of God.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

