Who told you?

But the Lord God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?” And he said, “I heard the sound of you in the garden, and I was afraid, because I was naked, and I hid myself.” He said, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” Genesis 3:9-11

Of course God did not need to ask Adam where he was. We cannot hide from God. God knew what had happened and how both Adam and Eve had disobeyed Him. What God wanted was to have Adam own up to what he had done. So He asks where Adam was and then again asks who told Adam he was naked. All things God knew but he wanted Adam to confess what had happened.

That is what God wants from each of us. God knows when we sin. He doesn’t need us to tell Him about our sins. What He wants from us is to be honest about our sins. Confessing them to God is the first step on the road to redemption and forgiveness. We each have to own up to what we have done. It is only be recognizing and taking responsibility for our sinful nature that we can begin the reconciliation with God.

The person who believes they are without sin sees no need for God to allow them into His presence. They see no reason to change how they live their lives. It is only when we come face to face with our sins that we finally recognize that we need God. It is only then that we see why Jesus did what he did in order to pay the price for our sins.

We need to confess our sins before we can start to repent of these sins. To paraphrase Jesus, we have to realize we are sick and in need of a doctor before we can be healed. Jesus came not for the healthy, those without sin, but the ill, those of us living in sin.

Two weeks ago I went to my doctor to have a growth removed from my face. When it was examined they found a few cancer cells. This week I had some additional surgery and all the cancer was removed. Had I not admitted I was ill I would have not found out until it was too late that I had a skin cancer. What is true for our bodies is also true for our soul. You can ignore your sin saying there is nothing wrong with me, I am a good person and have no need for Christ. But you ignore at your own peril.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who told you?

  1. John Paine says:

    …and you never missed a beat with your posts. Amazing. I wil pray for your complete recovery. Thanks and God bless. John

    • dwwork says:

      John,

      Thanks. The doctor got all the cancer and I am stitched up and healing. Might have a slight dueling scar, maybe help with my street cred. Thanks for your prayers. I guess it is in writing my posts that keeps me going. I was thinking this morning that I have never spent so much time with the word until I started blogging. Also, the book thing is very cool.

      David

Leave a Reply

