The Blame Game

The man said, “The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” Then the Lord God said to the woman, “What is this that you have done?” The woman said, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” Genesis 3:12-13

One of the things that bothers me most about the culture today is the “it’s not my fault” mentality. No one wants to take responsibility for their actions. It seems like everyone is looking for someone else to blame. I guess it shouldn’t bother me so much as this has been going on ever since Adam and Eve.

God asks Adam “Have you eaten of the tree of which I commanded you not to eat?” and what is the first thing Adam does? He blames Eve. It’s that woman’s fault. Of course not to be left out of the blame game Eve counters with it was the serpent’s fault. The devil made me do it defense. Neither is willing to own up to their actions and take responsibility for the consequences. The Bible is silent on who the serpent blamed. Of course Satan would have been happy to accept responsibility. After all he most likely is chalking this one up as a victory.

Something I often miss when reading today’s verses is that Eve is not the only one Adam blames. Adam tries to put the blame on God. Take a second look at what Adam says, “The woman whom YOU gave to be with me, she gave me fruit of the tree, and I ate.” Why don’t you know God, if you had not given me that woman I would not have disobeyed you. It is not my fault but yours. In this case Adam is saying God made him do it.

Adam is not the only one who blames God. We do it all the time. When we do it we call it acts of God, but what we really mean is God did this to those people. It is almost always those people. I really don’t think that God is sitting in heaven thinking I really don’t like those people in “Little Town” Oklahoma so I think I will send a tornado to wreak havoc on them. I really do not believe God send hurricanes because He just does not like the citizens of the Gulf Coast. These are natural events even necessary events for the good health of the earth and for us. But we Christians are way too fast to pronounce Gods judgment on particular areas of the world we don’t like or think live immoral lives.

Yes, God does cast judgment on people. In fact we will see just that judgment in the next few verses of Genesis. When God judges it is up to God to let us know not for us to pronounce. If we are truly honest it is not just the places hit by tornados or hurricanes that need to be judged but every place on earth. No place is free from sin. All should be judged and all will be judged. Fortunately those of us who have accepted Christ have had our judgment set aside for the price for our sins has already been paid.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

