He opened not his mouth

All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned—every one—to his own way; and the Lord has laid on him the iniquity of us all. He was oppressed, and he was afflicted, yet he opened not his mouth; like a lamb that is led to the slaughter, and like a sheep that before its shearers is silent, so he opened not his mouth. By oppression and judgment he was taken away; and as for his generation, who considered that he was cut off out of the land of the living, stricken for the transgression of my people? Isaiah 53:6-8

Just as in the time of the Judges so it was when Jesus came to earth, everyone did what was right in their own eyes. Unfortunately nothing has changed since. We still try to do things our way. Then, maybe, when that fails we turn to God to get us out of the jam we find ourselves in. It is continuous stubbornness that was why God had to come down to earth and show us the way out.

Stop for a moment, maybe if you are like me a number of moments and just think about your sins. Quite a lot isn’t it? And those are just the ones you remember. Now multiply you sins by the sins of every person who ever lived and whoever will live. Every one of them was put on Jesus’ shoulders. He paid the price for all of them. He paid that price whether or not a person accepted this gift. From the worst mass murderer to the best saint every sin has been paid for.

He did all this without a word of complaint. So great was His love for us. How many times have you complained that life is just not fair? I know for me not very many days go by that I don’t think myself put upon or ask to do something I should not have to or get the blame for something I did not do. At least that is how I perceive it. Most of the times I am wrong. And so far no one has asked me to be punished for someone else’s wrong doing. If that did happen I would be crying from the rooftops of the injustice. Yet Jesus said not a word. Of all the people who had a right to complain He said not a word.

Once again Isaiah lets us know that Jesus, the Messiah was killed for our sins. I just do not know how else you can read “he was cut off out of the land of the living, stricken for the transgression of my people.”  Jesus accepted a death sentence not because He did anything wrong. He accepted it because we had done much wrong and there was no way for us to pay such a great price. He did it because He loved me and He loves you. He loves us regardless of whether we return that love.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

