Not my will but yours, be done

And he came out and went, as was his custom, to the Mount of Olives, and the disciples followed him. And when he came to the place, he said to them, “Pray that you may not enter into temptation.” And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.” And there appeared to him an angel from heaven, strengthening him. And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly; and his sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground.  And when he rose from prayer, he came to the disciples and found them sleeping for sorrow, and he said to them, “Why are you sleeping? Rise and pray that you may not enter into temptation.” Luke 22:39-46

I cannot think of any passages in the Bible that illustrate the humanity of Jesus than today’s verses. Jesus was fully God but He was also fully human. The fact that I cannot fully grasp how that can be does not change the fact that it is true. There are many things that I know to be true even though I cannot get my mind around them or fully understand them. I know that electrons exist even though I have never seen one. I know there is something called dark energy and dark matter even though science really does not understand what they are. I know my car is blue even though there is no way I can explain exactly what the color blue is. Just because something is beyond our minds to grasp does not make it false.

Jesus, God with us, felt everything we do. He got hot in the summer heat. He grew thirsty and hungry. When He walked His feet got sore. Jesus got tired just as we do and if He stubbed His toe on a rock it hurt. When He worked as a carpenter He got blisters on His hands. I am sure Jesus saw beauty in a sunrise or sunset and we know He felt sorrow for Jerusalem. So, as the hour for Jesus’ crucifixion grew near so did the dread for the immense pain He would soon endure.

Every time I donate blood I dread the needle. I know that it is going to hurt. But I also know that that pain will be short lived and that there will be enormous benefits from my donation. Lives will be saved because I made the donation. Jesus was facing exponentially more pain and pain that would last hours not minutes or seconds. Still He too knew that the benefits from the sacrifice would outweigh the pain, lives would be saved. So Jesus while wishing He could be spared the pain of crucifixion knew that is was the will of the Father that needed to be done not His own.

God asks us also to make hard choices. Sometime they seem to go against our best interests but we should always remember His will not ours.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Easter, God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

