Why have you forsaken me?

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning? O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer, and by night, but I find no rest. Yet you are holy, enthroned on the praises of Israel. In you our fathers trusted; they trusted, and you delivered them. To you they cried and were rescued; in you they trusted and were not put to shame. Psalm 22:1-5

We have looked at the 22nd Psalm before but I thought it would be nice to take another look as we look for Old Testament passages that relate to the Messiah. This Psalm written by David pertains not only to David but the coming Messiah. While some of the verses seem to be about David alone many if not most could not be about David.

Today’s verses seem to be about both David and the Messiah. In fact the first sentence is one of the things Jesus said on the cross just before He died. As the sins of the world are poured on Jesus and God unable to look at our sins turns His back Jesus cries out. He feels that God has left him. David too had reason to feel forsaken by God. He was driven from home and hunted by Saul. Living like an animal he must have felt alone.

Yet just as God did not forsake His Son so He did not forsake David. David eventually became king of Israel ruling in Jerusalem. Jesus was resurrected from the grave and is King of all. God will never forsake His people. Yes at time He seems withdrawn and distant but for us that usually means it is us that have moved away from Him not He from us.

So the next time you feel God has given up on you take a moment and evaluate your actions. What have you done that has put distance between you and God? He is never more than a thought away. He is always ready to take us back under His wing. Those around us may leave us and forget us, God never will.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Devotional, God, Psalms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why have you forsaken me?

  1. Freedomborn says:

    Thank you David, a great message with much Truth, we remember that Jesus knew He would be separated from God because of our sin and agonised over it in the Garden as His disciples slept but realising how very weak our flesh is He knew there was no other way, He died to set us free from the slavery of sin so great was His Love for both His Father and for us, He knew God’s heart would be broken eternally if we were all to perish in our sin and so be separated from God eternally so He said not my will Father but yours be done …. Do we say the same.

    God bless you greatly David and your Loved ones now and always.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

