But have not love

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. 1 Corinthians 13:1-3

I am going to pause a few days in looking at Psalm 22 and The Old Testament verses that pertain to Jesus to look at 1 Corinthians 13. This past weekend I felt an urging to address how we as Christians are supposed to act. Too often we come across as hateful, intolerant and unloving. All of this is the exact opposite of how Jesus acted and how He commands us to act. In my blogging I occasionally read blogs written by atheists and have had comments from atheists on my blog. I also read books written by the so called new atheist and have found a lot of hostility toward religion and Christians in particular.

Now this hostility is by no means an indictment of all atheists, in fact those who have comments on my blog have been civil and bring up well reasoned comments. But comments on their own sites do seem to me to be hostile and I think the reason for this hostility lies almost sole in our court. In reacting to the world we can tend to come across as mad at those that do not believe as we do. We sometimes let our hate the sin but love the sinners mindset to come across as hate the sin and the sinner. We have so called Christian groups staging protests at funerals for our fallen soldiers who think these deaths punishment for our country’s tolerance of homosexuality.

Jesus loved the sinner all He asked them to do was sin no more. We as sinners ourselves need to show others Christ’s love. It is not up to us to judge the sins of others. Neither can we expect other to stop their sins when we cannot stop sinning ourselves. Jesus brought people to Himself through His love of them, the poor, the affected and the sinner. He associated with tax collectors, prostitutes and all manner of unclean people. Jesus came to save the unrighteous not the righteous.

In today’s verses Paul list spiritual gifts Christians covet, yet for each one he adds that if he is without love then all other gifts are useless. Even faith without love is nothing. How can we expect to win others to Christ without love?

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

