He listened to them in this matter

Then Daniel said to the steward whom the chief of the eunuchs had assigned over Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah, “Test your servants for ten days; let us be given vegetables to eat and water to drink. Then let our appearance and the appearance of the youths who eat the king’s food be observed by you, and deal with your servants according to what you see.” So he listened to them in this matter, and tested them for ten days. At the end of ten days it was seen that they were better in appearance and fatter in flesh than all the youths who ate the king’s food. So the steward took away their food and the wine they were to drink, and gave them vegetables. Daniel1:11-16

Ever witnessed a conversation where both sides are talking but neither is listening to the other? Perhaps you have been involved in such a conversation. Too often that happens when people are talking about religion. Each side is totally convinced they are right and they never hear the other side. We can learn a lot from how Daniel handled his problem with the chief of the eunuchs. Both had a position from which it appeared there was no way to compromise yet in the end they were able to reach an agreement.

Daniel in a polite manner asked to be feed according to Jewish dietary law but rather than be argumentative an in the process losing the argument Daniel proposed a simple test. Let the four eat only vegetables for ten days and then look at the results. If they grew weaker than the rest they would eat the king’s food if not they would continue to eat vegetables. Since the Jewish captives training period would last a year the ten day trial if it failed gave the chief of the eunuchs ample time to get the four back in good health. He was able to accomplish the four’s request without any harm coming to him.

Sometimes all we need do to get someone to come to Christ is to get them to give Him a try. We don’t have to ask them to make a lifetime commitment just come to church with us for a few Sundays or maybe read one of the Gospel accounts. I have seen this in action with the local Christian radio station, KSBJ in the Houston area. They give people a 30 day challenge. They ask people to listen to the station for a month. It is amazing how many after the month is over continue to listen to the station. That is how I started to listen to the station. I would listen to KSBJ either during my morning commute or the afternoon commute. Then I would listen to my normal stations either rock or country. Soon I found myself listening to KSBJ on both ends of my commute. Finally I became a fulltime listener and supporter. Now had I been forced to go cold turkey from my normal stations I would have most likely been resentful and as soon as I could I would have reverted to my old stations.

I have found that a respectful approach when sharing my beliefs while it may not change the other’s beliefs it does allow for a longer and more productive dialog. Just as important I can see the other’s objections to Christianity and make adjustment in how I communicate Christ. It always helps me to know what other believe and why they believe as they do. Who knows what seeds have been planted just by keeping things civil. We are at war with Satan but we are not at war with our fellow humans. For them we are on a rescue mission. Rescuers need to be calm and deliberate not crazy.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He listened to them in this matter

  1. John Paine says:

    Love the rescuers comment. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

