God gave them learning and skill

As for these four youths, God gave them learning and skill in all literature and wisdom, and Daniel had understanding in all visions and dreams. At the end of the time, when the king had commanded that they should be brought in, the chief of the eunuchs brought them in before Nebuchadnezzar. And the king spoke with them, and among all of them none was found like Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah. Therefore they stood before the king. And in every matter of wisdom and understanding about which the king inquired of them, he found them ten times better than all the magicians and enchanters that were in all his kingdom. And Daniel was there until the first year of King Cyrus. Daniel1:17-21

Ever wish God would bless you with a specific gift? Maybe you are like me and always wanted to be a soloist in the choir. Unfortunately while God did give me a good singing voice, my sense of timing and ability to read music is sorely lacking. Now I could probably learn to read music but the timing thing that just seems to be beyond my ability. So up until I had some issues with my throat, I sang as a part of choirs where I could depend on others to help with my timing and hitting the right notes. Still, couldn’t God help me with that timing thing?

When I look at what God gave these four young men it makes me think. Wouldn’t that be great to be so knowledgeable and wise that you could impress a king? And Daniel, wow, he can interpret dreams and visions. These young men were better, much better, than all the wise men that surrounded Nebuchadnezzar. But as I read today’s verses it struck me that the gifts God gave me should be sufficient for me. God equips each of us with the gifts we will need to succeed in the tasks He has for us.

God did not need me to have great musical timing; He had a different task for me. It seems that I can be moderately successful at teaching and writing. Now I could continue to dream about a solo that would bring the congregation to its feet but that would come at a cost of not doing what I feel He wants me to do. Don’t get me wrong I still have that fantasy but it is just that a nice dream that makes me smile but does not get in the way of what I should be doing.

Each one of us has a gift that God has given us in order to do His work. Most of us know what that gift is but there are ways to find out if you do not know. Ask your pastor or one of the ministers in your church. Most have ways to assess spiritual gifts. Then put that gift or gifts to work. If you have more than one, God will direct you to the specific gift He wants you to use and will show you how to use all your gifts toward that goal.

Daniel, Hananiah, Mishael, and Azariah were given some very impressive gifts. They were also in store for some extremely hard times in Babylon. Most of us will never come close to experiencing the trial these four men did but God gave them the gifts and strength to handle what came their way. He will do the same for you. God has and will give you the strengths and gifts to handle the trials that life will through at you. He has given you the gifts you need to spread the Gospel to the world. What we need to do is out those gifts to work.

This past winter I needed to buy a new chainsaw. My old one had broken and parts to fix it were no longer available. The new saw work great and is much easier to start and maintain than my fifteen year old saw. The thing is that as long as I keep the saw on its shelf in the garage it will not cut a single thing. In order to be useful I have to take it out and start it up then I can get work done. Otherwise it just gathers dust.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

