Flight: The Genius of Birds a Video Review

I received an advanced copy of Ilustra Media’s newest production Flight: The Genius of Birds which is the first in the new The Design of Life series. Having enjoyed all their previous efforts I immediately pop this one into the player. I was not disappointed. One thing that stands out is the high production values Ilustra Media puts into their videos. The photography is breathtaking and every aspect is top notch. Unfortunately this cannot be said for many Christian based video projects. The production values are worthy of anything and the Discovery or History channels and the science is top notch.

Flight can be enjoyed by anyone interested in nature and birds in particular. The video is not preachy as so many are but goes through the many aspects of birds that allow them to fly. It goes into detail on the bones, how flight muscles are attached and work and how feathers aid in flight. We are shown how the wings of hummingbirds differ from most other birds and we see how the hummingbird wing allows for their acrobatic flight.

We are shown current research on the migration of the arctic turn, a bird that has the longest migration of any animal moving from pole to pole each year. These amazing birds fly the equivalent of several trips to the moon and back during their lifetimes. Much of this research is only a few years old.

As Flight show how the many parts of a birds anatomy need to come together in order for flight to be possible it leads the viewer to think that Intelligent Design is a real alternative to evolution and naturalism.

I believe that even the committed naturalist will find this video entertaining and informative. Hopefully they will see that the theory of evolution is in need of an overhaul as gradualism is sorely lacking in explanatory value when so many systems need to work in concert in order for flight to happen.

Flight: The Genius of Birds is available directly from Ilustra Media or from Amazon. While you are there pick up a copy of Metamorphosis: The Beauty and Design of Butterflies another great video from Ilustra Media. I have reviewed Metamorphosis: The Beauty and Design of Butterflies on this blog check it out in the Movie and Video reviews.

In fairness I want to disclose that I am a donor to Ilustra Media and have been for a number of years. I have been so impressed with the quality that I felt compelled to help.

Have a blessed day,

David

PS: I have just about finished getting my computer back up and operational. I am loading programs this weekend and hope to have all my files back and get back to finishing my series on evolution and finding some responses to some comments. Thanks for your patience.

 

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Comentary, Video/Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flight: The Genius of Birds a Video Review

  1. John Paine says:

    Illustra Media does a great job with their videos. The Case for a Creator is one of the best tools I have come across for witnessing to atheists and agnostics, and it is a great encouragement to believers.

Leave a Reply

