How great are his signs

King Nebuchadnezzar to all peoples, nations, and languages, that dwell in all the earth: Peace be multiplied to you! It has seemed good to me to show the signs and wonders that the Most High God has done for me. How great are his signs, how mighty his wonders! His kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and his dominion endures from generation to generation. Daniel 4:1-3

Reading today’s verses it would seem that things for the Jews in Babylon would be smooth sailing from now on. If only that were the truth but in fact Nebuchadnezzar’s praise for God and God’s followers would be short lived. It is not enough to acknowledge God and His actions. God does not need our acknowledgements He wants our commitment.

Satan acknowledges God’s existence and he acknowledges the Jesus is God’s Son. Satan’s demons also believe in God and Jesus. That belief however is without commitment to God. I am afraid that there are a lot of people who call themselves Christians who hole no more belief than Satan and his demons. In fact there are whole religions who call themselves followers of God and Jesus but define God and Jesus in a way different than what we find in the Bible.

God wants us to commit to Him. He wants us to commit to doing His work but I think even more importantly God wants us to commit to letting Him change us. God wants to change us, to conform us to be like Jesus. This change is slow and will not be complete until we are with Him in heaven. It is this slowness in the change that can cause Christians to doubt that we are truly His. In fact I do not know any Christians who at some time have not had such doubts. Many times we are not the best judge of how much we have changes. We are held captive by our thoughts. It is in the eyes of others that the change is often most apparent.

We don’t have to be perfect to be His; we only need to allow God to work in our lives to be His. Perfection will come at His own time. We need to be patient and allow God to work in us and through us. Unfortunately there are many people out there fully convinced they are going to heaven who will be left behind eternally separated from God. Also unfortunately there are many who are saved but doubt their own salvation or thing salvation can be taken from them.

For those who doubt let me share something from my own life. While I had accepted Christ as a twelve year old during college I drifted away and it was not until I was fort-two years old with three children to take care of that I finally started going back to church and rededicated my life to Christ. About the only change I noticed was that I spent Sunday mornings at church. However about two or three years into this process I was visiting with my oldest friend, who I have known since Junior High, and he told me I was the most changed person he knew. God changes us slowly or at least he did me, so often we do not notice the slow and often subtle changes. But someone who has known us most of our lives and that sees us on occasion, they notice the change. They see what God has done.

Signs and wonders are great but they can blind us to who God truly is. God does not want to dazzle us; He wants us to make a commitment. When we commit to God He will commit to change us and God will never give up on us. Once He starts working on us He will continue until His work is done. That is a promise you can take to the bank.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How great are his signs

  1. John Paine says:

    You know you’re a Christian when you start accepting that God is in control, and that control causes you to act differently–particularly when you have to humble yourself. Great testimony and post. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

