Tell me the visions of my dream

I, Nebuchadnezzar, was at ease in my house and prospering in my palace. I saw a dream that made me afraid. As I lay in bed the fancies and the visions of my head alarmed me. So I made a decree that all the wise men of Babylon should be brought before me, that they might make known to me the interpretation of the dream. Then the magicians, the enchanters, the Chaldeans, and the astrologers came in, and I told them the dream, but they could not make known to me its interpretation. At last Daniel came in before me—he who was named Belteshazzar after the name of my god, and in whom is the spirit of the holy gods—and I told him the dream, saying, “O Belteshazzar, chief of the magicians, because I know that the spirit of the holy gods is in you and that no mystery is too difficult for you, tell me the visions of my dream that I saw and their interpretation. The visions of my head as I lay in bed were these: I saw, and behold, a tree in the midst of the earth, and its height was great. The tree grew and became strong, and its top reached to heaven, and it was visible to the end of the whole earth. Its leaves were beautiful and its fruit abundant, and in it was food for all. The beasts of the field found shade under it, and the birds of the heavens lived in its branches, and all flesh was fed from it. Daniel 4:4-12

Once again Nebuchadnezzar is given a dream that needs interpretation and the king again turns to Daniel for the interpretation. As I have stated before, human behavior have not changed much over the centuries. We humans are for the most part a “what have you done for me lately” group. Businesses are concerned with what their employees bring to the bottom line and when that metric decreases changes are mad. In professional sports when a player no longer performs at the highest level they are cut from the team or traded. Way too often that is just how we approach God.

Just like Nebuchadnezzar, we too turn to God when we want Him to do something for us or give us something we think we need. We want God to serve us and not the other way around. When God disappoints we are quick to turn to some other source for our desires. We want Santa Claus not God and when we find out that God is in fact not Santa we are disappointed.

God allowed Daniel to interpret Nebuchadnezzar’s first dream and the answer was not all that great. Essentially, God told the king that his kingdom would be replaced by ever less glorious kingdoms. Now Daniel has been called to interpret a second dream. This interpretation will be no better for Nebuchadnezzar.

No one can continually disobey God and expect things to go well. At some time there will be a price to pay for disobedience. Sometimes it will be here on earth and sometimes it will be in the next life. Rest assured you will be asked to pay the price if you continue to rely on your own ability and reject God’s plan for your life.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

