Now let Daniel be called

The queen, because of the words of the king and his lords, came into the banqueting hall, and the queen declared, “O king, live forever! Let not your thoughts alarm you or your color change. There is a man in your kingdom in whom is the spirit of the holy gods. In the days of your father, light and understanding and wisdom like the wisdom of the gods were found in him, and King Nebuchadnezzar, your father—your father the king—made him chief of the magicians, enchanters, Chaldeans, and astrologers, because an excellent spirit, knowledge, and understanding to interpret dreams, explain riddles, and solve problems were found in this Daniel, whom the king named Belteshazzar. Now let Daniel be called, and he will show the interpretation.” Daniel 5:10-12

Daniel is no longer a young man and it has been years since he was last asked to interpret Nebuchadnezzar’s dreams. It appears from today’s verses that Daniel has been all but forgotten by the new king. However the queen does recall Daniel and mentions him to the king. So what can we learn from today’s verses?

Daniel is most likely in his fifties or sixties possibly even older. We do not know what Daniel has been doing all these years but I would bet he has not neglected his relationship with God. Sometimes, and this is especially true in the West, we think that we should be able to relax in our golden years. Work hard for forty or fifty years and then retire. The thing is there is no retirement age when it comes to God’s work.

God can use us as children and he can use us as adults and He can use us a senior citizen. The Bible speaks often about the wisdom that comes with age. We can share our experiences with those younger than us. We can act as mentor for young Christians. Our Bible study teachers on Sunday are a couple both in their seventies. They prepare lessons each week, visit class members and make hospital visits.

On a personal note I started these devotionals at 59 years old and started my blog the same year. To be honest I never even gave blogging a thought until I was asked why I didn’t start a blog. I have to admit my first though was what do I know about blogs, that is a young person’s area. I am amazed almost every day that God allows me to privilege to write these devotionals. Every year when I get the stats on my blog I am humbled by how many people I have reached and how many countries I have reached, with my biggest surprise being Middle Eastern countries.

If God can use me, He can use anyone no matter your age. Today we have the ability to reach the world without ever leaving home. Think about that. When the Bible was written it letters and books would be copied by hand and then distributed a few copies at a time. Upon reaching their destination they would once again be hand copied. But it was this slow methodical process that reached the world with the Good News. No one could travel faster than a horse of a sailing ship and most of the time it was by foot.

Just as God used Daniel in his old age so God can and will use each of us. All we need to do is listen and heed His call. We may live in a society that worships at the altar of youth but God has no age limit on His disciples.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Now let Daniel be called

  1. John Paine says:

    Amen. I’m in a Sunday school class with some very sharp seniors. Their Bible knowledge is amazing, and a real encouragement to everyone present. They witness by sharing their years of study–just like you do. Thanks for blogging!

Leave a Reply

