One on One

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. Matthew 28:19-20

Ever played one on one basketball? I did as a kid and again with my own kids. It is fun, especially when the two players are close in ability. I love sports and played them all as a kid. Football in front yards, baseball in the vacant lot located on the street behind out block and basketball in countless driveways and city courts. Unfortunately my love of sports did not match my abilities. In high school I was 6’ 1 ½” but I was also about 135 or 140 pounds and slow. I mean slow, real slow. When I played little league I had to hit doubles in order to get to first base. I was too light weight to play line in football and too slow for any other position except quarterback. Did I forget to mention horrible upper body strength? So, no throwing arm let QB out of my future. Still I loved playing. And one on one was one of my favorite ways to play basketball. Now I lost more times than I won but for me it was playing the game that counted most.

Now what has all of that got to do with anything?  Especially as it relates to the verses above. Well I will tell you. I just finished ready an email from my friend Cathy who along with her husband Gary are Baptist missionaries in a Balkan country. I met both Cathy and Gary on my first ever mission trip in 2005 and went back to help in 2006. Cathy’s email told about some women that Cathy is mentoring in Bible studies. These are women who for the most part have led lives devoid of God. The Soviet influence is still strong in that part of the world especially as it pertains to religion. The Balkans are ripe places for the harvest and Cathy and Gary are making converts every day. They do this not in large settings but one on one.

As I read the email it occurred to me that that is really how Christianity spreads. One person telling another person about Jesus and how He has changed their lives. One person teaching one person about God’s word and God’s love for each of us. People get lost in crowds. Large churches are great for learning about God but they are also great for getting lost in the crowd and keeping anonymous. But one on one we are no longer just a face in the crowd. One on one we are friends or soon to be friends helping one another become closer to God.

Who is your one on one partner? If you do not have one ask God to send one your way. It is a great way to increase the Kingdom.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Comentary, Devotional, God and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

