Gabriel, make this man understand the vision

When I, Daniel, had seen the vision, I sought to understand it. And behold, there stood before me one having the appearance of a man. And I heard a man’s voice between the banks of the Ulai, and it called, “Gabriel, make this man understand the vision.” So he came near where I stood. And when he came, I was frightened and fell on my face. But he said to me, “Understand, O son of man, that the vision is for the time of the end.” Daniel 8:15-17

Not everything in the Bible is easily understandable. Some parts that I may find hard to understand you may quickly understand while other verses the reverse may be true. Then there are parts that are hard for everyone to understand.  God knows that we all will struggle with understanding but He also provides ways to make His meaning clear.

In today’s verses we see one having the appearance of a man, the preincarnate Christ, instructing the angel Gabriel to make Daniel understand the vision Daniel just had. Here we have an example of God explaining something to Daniel that is otherwise hard to comprehend. God still does this today. When we find a verse that is confusing we can look to Him for understanding. It does not take an angel standing before us of even Jesus Himself but we can understand the hard verses by using the rest of God’s Word to comprehend the difficult parts. Since God is unable to contradict Himself we can be assured that when a part seems contradictory if we continue to read we will see how the entire Bible fits together.

God also puts others in our path to help understand His Word. Just a Gabriel explained the vision to Daniel so our pastors and fellow believers can help us to understand. This is why it is important to belong to a church that faithfully teaches the Word. Your church should have an active Bible study program for children, youth and adults. On Sunday’s the pastor should be teaching from the Word not leading the congregation in some twelve step program or telling you how to become wealthy and healthy. On a more personal note I always think my pastor should occasionally step on my toes to get me attention.

Finally when you find a passage that is difficult, pray. Pray for God to enlighten you. Pray for Him to show you the complementary passages in His Word and pray for guidance from those around you.

If someone uses a difficult passage to prove to you something that contradicts the rest of God’s Word ignore them. They are not speaking for God but for a twisted version of God’s Word. They will sound reasonable and their interpretation seem right to humans but it is really Satan twisting God’s Word to mislead.

God will always make His Word clear to us at the proper time. After 62 years I have found that God makes some verses clearest to me when I need them the most. Or just maybe God gives me a new insight on a verse that I had read hundreds of time. The meaning never changed but the application did. For me that is one of the beauties of the Bible. It never changes but it is new every day.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

