Because of your great mercy

“O Lord, according to all your righteous acts, let your anger and your wrath turn away from your city Jerusalem, your holy hill, because for our sins, and for the iniquities of our fathers, Jerusalem and your people have become a byword among all who are around us. Now therefore, O our God, listen to the prayer of your servant and to his pleas for mercy, and for your own sake, O Lord, make your face to shine upon your sanctuary, which is desolate. O my God, incline your ear and hear. Open your eyes and see our desolations, and the city that is called by your name. For we do not present our pleas before you because of our righteousness, but because of your great mercy. O Lord, hear; O Lord, forgive. O Lord, pay attention and act. Delay not, for your own sake, O my God, because your city and your people are called by your name.” Daniel 9:16-19

In today’s verses Daniel makes a point that sometimes gets missed in our prayer life, anytime God answers a prayer it is not because of anything we have done but only because of God’s great mercy. The hard fact is that we do not deserve to have any of our requests to God answered. He owes us nothing. We owe Him everything.

When we get disappointed or mad at God because He does not give us what we want we are missing the point. God knows what is best for us and just as important when it is best for us. Something I have heard a number of times over the years is appropriate in this discussion. God always answers our prayers. Sometime He says yes and sometime he says no but many time He says not yet. It is the not yet part that I have trouble with.

Why can’t I have it now? Now is when I really need it. Sometimes we are not yet equipped to handle what we want. Let me give one example from my life. I have always wanted children. I got married the first time when I was 27. It did not last but three years and no children came of it. Then five years later I remarried to my current and last wife. I immediately became a father of a six year old daughter. Two years later we had another daughter and then within three years a son.

When I look back, I see how I would have been a poor parent had God given me children even in my late twenties. But in my late thirties and early forties I was in a better place and was better able to handle children. God had me wait and the end result is three children I am proud to have and I managed not to mess them up too badly.

Had God given me children when I wanted them who know what would have happened. Yet His no in my twenties became a resounding yes later. I am sure if you look back on your own life you will find examples of God making you wait and then when He said yes it was better than you could have imagined.

What about when no is no? There are something’s I have asked for that I can imagine I will never be ready to handle. Money comes to mind. Not enough to get by but wealth, lots of money. I think a lot of us dream of being rich but we don’t think about how to handle wealth. The news is full of lottery winners and professional athletes who amass great wealth only to go bankrupt within a few years. We wonder how anyone can lose hundreds of millions of dollars. The answer is they just were not equipped to handle great wealth. I think that is true for most of us.

God only give us what we can handle when he give us more He will give us the ability to handle what He gives us. Rest assured none of the gifts we receive are deserved we get them any because of God’s grace and mercy.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Because of your great mercy

  1. John Paine says:

    I attended a retirement party last month for my former graduate advisor. 30 years ago when I presented my idea for a thesis to him, he told me ‘no’. My idea wasn’t challenging enough. He was right, and the outcome was truly special–well worth the long time and steep effort I had to invest. ‘Yes’ was the answer I was looking for, but his ‘no’ made a huge impact on my life. It was the correct and better answer.

Leave a Reply

