He made me understand

While I was speaking and praying, confessing my sin and the sin of my people Israel, and presenting my plea before the Lord my God for the holy hill of my God, while I was speaking in prayer, the man Gabriel, whom I had seen in the vision at the first, came to me in swift flight at the time of the evening sacrifice. He made me understand, speaking with me and saying, “O Daniel, I have now come out to give you insight and understanding. At the beginning of your pleas for mercy a word went out, and I have come to tell it to you, for you are greatly loved. Therefore consider the word and understand the vision. Daniel 9:20-23

Do you ever wish God would give you the same clarification as He did Daniel? I know there are many times I wish he would do that for me. I feel I am going the right direction but it would be nice to get that sort of personal attention. Even though I know that if one of God’s angels would appear to me I would probably faint. There is a problem of discernment. How do I tell if it is God’s angel and not Satan of one of his minions?

There is a way to tell. Is what you are being told contradicts God’s Word or harmonizes with the Word. God will not contradict Himself. He will not suddenly decide that everything He has told us throughout history was wrong and now here is the real truth. God is just not like that. He is unchanging and that means His word and decisions are also unchanging.

We can be fooled. Think not, what about these two examples? In the seventh century Mohammad received revelations from the angel Gabriel which eventually led to the Quran and the Islamic religion. While the Quran agrees with the Bible in many areas it does have some contradiction with the Bible such as changing the son Abraham was to sacrifice from Isaac to Ishmael. But in a major departure Mohammad changes Jesus from the Son of God to another prophet. A great prophet but a prophet none the less. The changing of the nature of Jesus is a major contradiction of the Word of God.

Then in the nineteenth century we have Joseph Smith receiving the Book of Mormon from an angel called Moroni who Smith in one account describes as an angel of light. While the Book of Mormon does not so much contradict the Bible as it does copy almost word for word the King James translation including mistranslations unique to the King James Version. I am not a Bible translator or scholar but I would think that if God was giving us an update in English He would have not mistranslated His own Word.

What the Book of Mormon did lead to was major contradictions between Joseph Smith’s revelations and the Bible. Once again the nature of both God and Jesus are different. For Smith God was once a man who now has an exalted body and Jesus is an actual child of God. Neither were eternally and unchanging God.

Even though I wish God would send some messenger to me to make thing crystal clear from time to time. Maybe I am better off just going back to His Word and the guidance of the Holy Sprite. I would rather deal with a bit of uncertainty than risk being led down the wrong path by the wrong angel.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Islam, Mormon, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He made me understand

  1. I think we have to be careful David when claiming the K.J.V has translation errors that make a difference, as some people do, sometimes it is the person reading t that sees an error or an omission when there is none but perhaps if you can give some examples, I will understand better what you mean.

    I have found more Translation errors in the modern Translations than the K.J.V, some that changed the whole meaning of the text but unlike the Jehovah Witnesses Translation and the commentary attached to the Book of Mormon that is viewed as more significant than God’s inspired words, they were not intended to deceive they are just man’s errors. There are major changes though in the N.I.V and a few other Translations using the same source, such has the verses below being omitted or parts of them, although they are both confirmed in other Scriptures.

    1 John 5: 7 For there are three that bear record in Heaven, the Father, the Word, and the Holy Ghost: and these Three are One.

    Romans 8:1 There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.

    The N.I.V also have added small Particles when they were not used in the original Greek such as the “IT” in (Hebrews 4:12-13) which changes who it is in reference to. Also they have changed in their latest Translation from their first Translation which they claim they were led by The Spirit to write, one of the Apostles names to a female name which than contradicts other Scripture confirming that woman are not to teach in Authority over men, also as you said The Holy Spirit does not make mistakes or change His mind.

    As for being visited by an Angel, I would ask Him a question, if he couldn’t answer it than I would know he was not from God, only The Holy Spirit can give understanding of God’s Truth and Satan does not have His empowering, that is why the Cults have got it wrong, they also don’t have the Holy Spirit indwelling them as you shared.

    Christian Love – Anne

  2. dwwork says:

    Anne, your comment troubles me. Either you have missed the point I was making in this post or you have chosen to ignore my point in order to make a comment about something I never wrote. This post does not make any claim that the KJV has translation errors that impact any Christian doctrines nor was I comparing the KJV to modern translations nor making a comment that one had more or less translation errors. In fact I know of no English translation that has any translation errors that affect core Christian beliefs

    The point of the post which I feel is very clear is that Joseph Smith copies whole parts of the KJV and passed them off as a new word of God which he received from the golden plates. The fact that God would choose to use 17th century English to communicate with a 19th century man and than make a translation error is to say the least un-God like. That Joseph Smith was a plagiarizer was the point.

    As to the KJV mistranslations I will need to dig out my notes. But we need to remember that when the KJV was made there was a limited number of manuscripts available and they were of more recent date than what modern translators has access to. Also the KJV translators used Latin manuscripts not the Greek manuscripts that were discovered later and are older.

    Today scholars have access to over 24,000 manuscripts of the New Testament alone. Here is a breakdown from a Bible study I conducted.
    Copies of the New Testament by writing style and language:
    Unical manuscripts (all-capital Greek letters from 3rd century) – 306 Minuscule (a more cursive Greek style from about 800 AD) 2,856
    Early Church lectionaries ( contains New Testament in order it was to be read) 2,403
    Total Greek copies = 5,664

    Latin vulgate manuscripts 8,000 to 10,000
    Ethiopic, Slavic and Armenian 8,000
    All totaled there are about 24,000 complete copies of the New Testament in existence, dating from the third century on. Scholars Norman Geisler and William Nix have concluded that not only has the New Testament survived in more manuscripts than any other book from antiquity, but has survived in a purer form that any other great book, a form that is 99.5 percent pure.

    Finally as I have written before all English translations suffer from the fact that it is difficult to translate one language into another with English havering some particular problems due to lack of words, example we have one word for love while in the Greek there are four word for love. That is why I recommend using multiple translations. The beauty of God’s Word is that even with the problems inherit with translation His message comes across and no matter what version you chose God’s Word is clear. Note, I am not including Jehovah’s Witnesses Watchtower Society’s New World Translation Bible or The LDS edition of the Bible which while it is KJV, it contains footnotes and indexing, and summaries that are consistent with LDS Church teachings and that integrate the Bible with the church’s other standard works.

    Below are some links to sites that explore translation errors in the KJV. One in particular is the KJV use of Holy Ghost rather than Holy Spirit. Again not something that affect doctrine just a mistranslation the the Greek. What is amazing is they used a translation, Latin, to make a translation, English, and if we had no other translation that the KJV we would have every idea God wanted to convey to us.

    http://watch.pair.com/TR-kjv-issues.html or http://www.bible-researcher.com/kjvdefects.html and http://www.biblestudy.org/basicart/bible-errors.html

    Have a blessed day,
    David

  3. I showed you errors in the Newer Translations of the Bible David, I did not make them up, they are there and for the reasons I shared but I’m surprised you do not know that the original K.J.V New Testament was translated from the Greek and the Old Testament from the Hebrew and Aramaic which were confirmed in parts by the Dead Sea Scrolls, yes some were changed in later Translations and the Apocrypha that the Catholics includ which has proven to be mainly fables and unproven hearsay was deleted. The K.J.V confirms itself the New Testament with the Old and the Old Testament with the New.

    God shows us error in Translation so we don’t have to fear, as for the Cult Translations, I never refer to them as genuine but I have found that Cult members Trust in the added notes and books as you shared more than what their Translation of the Scriptures say.

    Without God’s Wisdom by the empowering The Holy Spirit we cannot understand God’s Truth in the Scriptures (1Corinthians2:9-16) which is why Cults don’t recognize Jesus’ Divinity, they can’t call Him LORD nor can Satan for the same reason, he is not all knowing like God or can he understand God’s heart and thoughts any apparition from Satan will be the same, ask them if Jesus is LORD and they will say no just like the Cults do, to acknowledge Jesus is God, is to be under His Authority and carnal man is full of fleshy pride just like Satan.

    1 Corinthians 12:3 Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man speaking by the Spirit of God calleth Jesus accursed: and that no man can say that Jesus is the Lord, but by the Holy Ghost.(KJV)

    Blessings – Anne

  4. dwwork says:

    Anne,
    Once again you have missed my point. I never wrote that the KJV translators did not use Greek and Hebrew bible available at the time in their efforts to translate God’s Word. What I did write was on manuscripts that were available to them at the time and gave an example of one type. You seem to want to argue with me over something I have to my knowledge never claim that newer translations are without error. I am puzzled as to why.
    What bothers me most is you have hijacked this post to make an argument that has nothing to do with the original post. I have never claimed one translation is better than another. I have always contended that we need to use multiple translations as none of the translations available to us are inspired. The inspired writings were those done by the original authors in the original languages.
    In the future I would appreciate it if you would keep your comments germane to the post and save the tangents for your own blog. In going off topic you totally miss the point that Joseph Smith did not receive new revelation from God but simply passed off the KJV as something he received from God.
    As to the KJV, it is one of my favorite translations. In fact one of my most precious possessions is the KJC Bible that my grandmother gave me when I turned twelve. I have carried that Bible on travels and still find the language to be the most poetic of all translations. The language used is however archaic and many times is not easily understood today. So in my posts I used the English Standard Version not because it is without translation errors but because it is more easily understood.
    Finally, I hope we can conclude this line of commentary so the point of the original post is not lost.
    Have a blessed day,
    David

  5. As none of the translations available to us are inspired. The inspired writings were those done by the original authors in the original languages.

    So what is the point David of reading any of the Translations including the K.J.V if they are just written by man’s efforts , why should I believe them. God inspired the Scriptures as they were Translated into the K.J.V, it is one of the few Translations that have not deleted or added Scriptures.

    I don’t argue with anyone David I share God’s Truth if they choose to oppose what He tells us, they are the ones being divisive not me, because they are Trusting in fleshy man’s reasoning and logic.

    As an example of the K.J.V faithfulness to God’s Truth we can examine a case for the Authenticity of 1st John 5:7-8, I don’t usually share links from the Internet David but this one was very substantial and I think you will find it very interesting too..

    K.J.V – http://www.jesus-is-savior.com/Bible/1john57-exegesis.htm

    Blessings – Anne

    • dwwork says:

      Anne,
      When I write that there are no inspired translations of the Bible I looked at the meaning of inspired as it relates to God’s word that is it is God breathed from the mind of God to the mind of the writer. The inspired text is the original. What has been handed down to us are faithfully copied manuscripts of the original. Translations is different. It is the result of the work of many people looking for the best words to convey the meaning of the original text into a different language. Is God involved? Of course He is working through the Holy Spirit to guide the translators. Below if an article from Compelling Truth ministries which does a better job explaining this than I ever could.

      http://www.compellingtruth.org/inspired-translation.html

      (Are the translations of the Bible inspired?
      Second Timothy 3:16 says that “all Scripture is breathed out by God,” and this is where we get our term “inspiration,” which literally means “a breathing in.” God’s Word came to mankind as the writers of Scripture were filled with the “breath” of God.

      The Bible never speaks of the process of translation or of the translators. When we speak of the Bible’s inspiration, we are referring only to the original autographs. The writer of Hebrews says the divine message was confirmed “by signs and wonders and various miracles” (Hebrews 2:4). Obviously, the writer of Hebrews has in mind the original proclamation of the Word, not its translation into other languages.

      Second Peter 1:21 says that “men spoke from God.” Nothing is ever said of “translators translating from God.” The inspired part of the process, then, is the original delivery of the Word. When Paul taught that Scripture is “breathed out by God,” he was referring to the original manuscripts, not to a particular translation such as (in his day) the Septuagint.

      A translation’s value is based on its fidelity to the original, coupled with its clarity, accessibility, and style. A Bible translation is authoritative insofar as it reflects the original. The goal of a good translation is to communicate God’s Word in a way that is readily grasped by its intended readers. The KJV is a brilliant translation that had a lasting impact on 17th-century England and beyond and that set the standard for several centuries. As the English language has changed, other translations have appeared, such as the NASB, the NIV, and the ESV. All of these translations attempt to accurately communicate the ancient texts of Scripture.

      As trustworthy as a translation might be, however, it cannot be considered “inspired.” No translation is “breathed out by God”; it is a translation of what God has breathed. John Wycliffe was a great man of God, and we are forever grateful for his English translation of the Bible, but Wycliffe cannot be put in the same category as a prophet like Daniel or an apostle like Matthew. Daniel and Matthew were given the very words of God; their responsibility was to record precisely what the Spirit moved them to write. Wycliffe had a different role: to take what Daniel and Matthew wrote and make it comprehensible to the English-speaking world. Wycliffe would be the first to say that his translation was not inspired in the same sense as the Bible in its original languages.

      We may each have our favorite translation or one that we use more regularly than another. But we should not let arguments over translations divide the Body of Christ. Our loyalty should be to the inspired, inerrant Word of God as originally written, not to any one English translation.

      We are confident that Paul’s general statement that “all Scripture is breathed out by God” applies to the original autographs. But there are several different translations of those autographs that can still be viewed as authoritative for the church. There are many accurate translations available today that are being used by the Holy Spirit to change lives and guide the church.)

      Back to me.
      If we say all English translations is a problem as they all have differences and I do not believe God would inspire different groups to create different translations. I counted over 90 translations of the Bible in the twentieth century alone. Saying the any one translation is inspired creates a different set of problems. Which one do we pick and how do we go about the process? Do we choose the oldest? If so why the King James and not the older Geneva Bible or the even older Great Bible? Do we choose the newest? Then we are subject to ever changing inspired versions as newer translations arrive on the scene. Or why is English the inspired language. How about German or Spanish?

      For me it is enough to know that the English translation I use have been put together by men and women who have been guided by the Holy Spirit to faithfully translate God’s word from the original languages using the best resources available. I hope this has cleared up any confusion I have caused in my responses to your comments.

      Have a blessed day,

      David

Leave a Reply

