Behold, a man

On the twenty-fourth day of the first month, as I was standing on the bank of the great river (that is, the Tigris) I lifted up my eyes and looked, and behold, a man clothed in linen, with a belt of fine gold from Uphaz around his waist. His body was like beryl, his face like the appearance of lightning, his eyes like flaming torches, his arms and legs like the gleam of burnished bronze, and the sound of his words like the sound of a multitude. And I, Daniel, alone saw the vision, for the men who were with me did not see the vision, but a great trembling fell upon them, and they fled to hide themselves. So I was left alone and saw this great vision, and no strength was left in me. My radiant appearance was fearfully changed, and I retained no strength. Then I heard the sound of his words, and as I heard the sound of his words, I fell on my face in deep sleep with my face to the ground. Daniel10:4-9

Who is it that Daniel sees in today’s verses? Daniel describes him as a man so it could be an angel but I think it helps to look at how Daniel describes this man, “a man clothed in linen, with a belt of fine gold from Uphaz around his waist. His body was like beryl, his face like the appearance of lightning, his eyes like flaming torches, his arms and legs like the gleam of burnished bronze, and the sound of his words like the sound of a multitude”.

Now let’s go to the last book in the Bible and see how John describes Jesus in heaven, “and in the midst of the lampstands one like a son of man, clothed with a long robe and with a golden sash around his chest. The hairs of his head were white, like white wool, like snow. His eyes were like a flame of fire, his feet were like burnished bronze, refined in a furnace, and his voice was like the roar of many waters.” (Revelation 1:13-15).

It sounds to me like they are describing the same person. This brings up an important point. Whenever we are not sure what a verse(s) in the Bible mean we should use corresponding verses to help us ferret out the meaning. In today’s verses it seems clear that both Daniel and John are describing the same person. John recognized Jesus but Daniel living hundreds of years before the incarnation did not. Still Daniel knew the person he saw was powerful. So awesome was this person the He sapped Daniel’s strength.

Have a blessed day,

David

Just a side note on today’s verses. Being unfamiliar with what exactly beryl is I looked it up. For most of us the most familiar of the beryl is the emerald and the aquamarine. Pure beryl is colorless, but it is frequently tinted by impurities; possible colors are green, blue, yellow/gold, red, and white. Just my opinion but just possibly what Daniel saw reminded him of the golden beryl, a very pretty gemstone and in keeping with the burnished bronze of the arms and legs. Only speculation as there is as far as I am aware nothing that tells us exactly what beryl looked like in this passage.

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Behold, a man

  1. lotharson says:

    “This brings up an important point. Whenever we are not sure what a verse(s) in the Bible mean we should use corresponding verses to help us ferret out the meaning. ”

    The problem with that approach is that it assumes the Bible to be inerrant book of a single divine author and makes this doctrine irrefutable, for it is always possible to find unlikely harmonization between the contradictory theology of authors separated by centuries.

    An intellectual honest method consists of considering the author in his historical context and figuring out what he really thought, if it is possible at all.
    After that we can compare the intended meanings of various Biblical books and see how well they correspond to each other.

    Lovely greetings from continental Europe.

    Lothars Sohn – Lothar’s son

    http://lotharlorraine.wordpress.com

    • dwwork says:

      I agree that we need to consider the historical context in which the Bible was written but I do not think that it is necessarily true that one has to accept biblical inerrantcy in order to also use the Bible to interpret passages. The reason I say that is that the books that make up the Bible have historically been considered to be a single collection. What we know as the Old testament has been considered canon by the Jews for centuries, before the time of Jesus. The new testament was essentially finalized in the first and second century. Both Jewish and Christians considered the books to be inspired and although written by many human authors they were directed by God.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. David

Leave a Reply

