I retain no strength

When he had spoken to me according to these words, I turned my face toward the ground and was mute. And behold, one in the likeness of the children of man touched my lips. Then I opened my mouth and spoke. I said to him who stood before me, “O my lord, by reason of the vision pains have come upon me, and I retain no strength. How can my lord’s servant talk with my lord? For now no strength remains in me, and no breath is left in me.” Daniel 10:15-17

I don’t know if you have ever been in a situation where you were very afraid. If so you know how it can sap your strength. This is what has happened to Daniel. He has once again come into contact with an angel and the stress of the encounter has cause Daniel to become weakened.

I cannot imagine what it would be like to encounter one of God’s angels but today we see that even though Daniel has had a prior encounter with Gabriel he is still frightened. Daniel falls to the ground unable to speak of do anything. It is encounters like this that make me doubt stories of encounters with angels where the person seems to take the encounter in stride. With very few exceptions whenever we read of an encounter between humans and angels in the Bible the person is afraid. So afraid that they fall to the ground. Many times the person tries to worship the angel so great is their glory.

Not all encounters with angels happen that way because sometimes they appear to us a people. But in those cases the people involved do not recognize them as angels until after the encounter. It is not that angels are not around us but that they do not normally materialize in front of us. That is most likely a good thing as the shock would be hard for most to take.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I retain no strength

  1. lotharson says:

    While I doubt, on historical grounds, that the book of Daniel is of much evidential value, I am quite open to the idea that people might have real encounters with angels.

    But there seems to just no way to figure out what’s true and not in the various descriptions of such events.

    Lovely greetings from Europe.

    Lothars Sohn – Lothar’s son

    http://lotharlorraine.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

