I will tell you what is inscribed in the book of truth

Again one having the appearance of a man touched me and strengthened me. And he said, “O man greatly loved, fear not, peace be with you; be strong and of good courage.” And as he spoke to me, I was strengthened and said, “Let my lord speak, for you have strengthened me.” Then he said, “Do you know why I have come to you? But now I will return to fight against the prince of Persia; and when I go out, behold, the prince of Greece will come. But I will tell you what is inscribed in the book of truth: there is none who contends by my side against these except Michael, your prince. Daniel 10:18-21

The angel tells Daniel what is going to happen in the future. We will find out later that not everything Daniel was told was written down. There is something else we can learn from these verses. There is a battle going on that we cannot see. This battle pits angel verses fallen angel as they fight for control of this earth and all the people in it.

When Satan was cast out of heaven we are told it took a third of the angels with him. These were angels that chose to align themselves with Satan and rebel against God. Since that time they have been trying to deceive mankind. It started with Adam and Eve and continues to this day.

God has given each of us the ability to choose whose side we are on. He has also supplied us with the knowledge to make this choice. First He shows us His presence by the creation. The universe cries out that there is a creator. Next He has given us His Word that we might know Him better and see the plan He has for each of us.

What we do with this knowledge is up to us. We can ignore it, coming up with explanations that try to do away with the need for God. We can ignore His Word saying that it is outdated and no longer applies to the modern world. We can nitpick and refuse to believe because we do not understand everything contained in the Bible. We can even say God is unfair because He does not let everyone into heaven. We can do all those things but we cannot change what God has done and said.

Each of us has a choice to make. Most of us will have about 70 years to make that choice. Some will have longer and others will have much shorter time. And not making a decision is the same as saying no to God. Still what we decide here in this life will impact eternity. We can choose death or life. It is our choice to make.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Prophets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

