Do not grieve as others do who have no hope

But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope. For since we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so, through Jesus, God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep. For this we declare to you by a word from the Lord, that we who are alive, who are left until the coming of the Lord, will not precede those who have fallen asleep. For the Lord himself will descend from heaven with a cry of command, with the voice of an archangel, and with the sound of the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first. Then we who are alive, who are left, will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and so we will always be with the Lord. Therefore encourage one another with these words. 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18

When I read today’s verses earlier in the week I thought I knew how I would approach them. Then I learned about the death of a high school friend, Emmett. We first met the summer before the seventh grade and were friends through college. We saw each other almost every day, went on trips together and along with our mutual friend Mike were best of friends. The one day Emmett dropped out of sight. He moved and changed phone numbers and I lost touch completely.

Wednesday morning I came into the office to see an email from Mike. Emmett had died. Even though it had been well over 25 years since we had last talked I still felt a profound loss. I do not make close friends easily and Emmett and Mike were my oldest. But my feeling of loss was tempered by the knowledge that Emmett and I will one day see each other again. It will be a joyous reunion. You see even though we lost touch we had Jesus in common. And in today’s verses we see Paul telling us that even though a friend dies that is not the end of the friendship. Jesus will call Emmett and then if I am still among the living He will call me. So even in sadness that we never managed to get back together and now will never have that opportunity here, I feel great joy that I know where Emmett is now and that one day we will be reunited in friendship through the saving grace of Jesus.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Paul's letters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do not grieve as others do who have no hope

  1. humblesmith says:

    Only Christ and the good news He teaches us can offer comfort to those of us who are left alone when someone dies. The good news is that death is not the end, and glorious times are ahead. We lose sight of that so easily. A great passage you quoted here. We get so down and discouraged by the hopelessness of this world that we need to be reminded of the holiness of the Lord, the fellowship we can have with other believers today, and the wonderful times we have to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

