He entered once for all into the holy places

But when Christ appeared as a high priest of the good things that have come, then through the greater and more perfect tent (not made with hands, that is, not of this creation) he entered once for all into the holy places, not by means of the blood of goats and calves but by means of his own blood, thus securing an eternal redemption. For if the blood of goats and bulls, and the sprinkling of defiled persons with the ashes of a heifer, sanctify for the purification of the flesh, how much more will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself without blemish to God, purify our conscience from dead works to serve the living God. Hebrews 9:11-14

How many repetitive things do you do? For me just two off the top of my head are getting up each weekday morning and going to work which I repeat every Monday and filling my income taxes every year for the past forty plus years. Most things we do repetitively because we have to, taxes or going to work, but some things we do because we want to. I never tire of going to San Antonio to visit the Alamo or watching a sunset. Then there are things we do because God commands us to do such as sharing the gospel. For the Jews it was the annual sacrifice the high priest made in the Holy of Holies.

One thing most repetitive things have in common is that they have to be repeated. If I don’t go to work when I am supposed to then my employer will stop paying me. If I do not file my taxes then the IRS will come looking for me. I have to eat to stay healthy. And for Israel they needed to continue making blood sacrifices in order to atone for their sins. We have to repeat because what we do in not perfect. There is always something lacking. I have to eat every day because the food I eat can only sustain my body for a limited time. So we find ourselves in an endless loop or as the shampoo bottles say apply, rinse and repeat.

Then Jesus came along. He did what we cannot do, live a sinless life. But more than that He also willingly went to the cross to be the perfect blemish free lamb that was needed to atone for our sins. All those animal sacrifices made over the thousands of years from Abraham to the time of Jesus were not enough. As blemish free as these animals appeared to the human eye they were in the end not perfect enough. So they had to be repeated.

Jesus put an end to the need for continued sacrifices. No longer would our feeble sacrifices be needed. The Lamb of God took away the sins of the world and paid the price for all eternity. Yes the priests kept the sacrifices going for a few years until God allowed the destruction of the temple. Jewish scholars have reasons why blood sacrifices are no longer needed. But the real reason is that the Messiah has come and offered the perfect sacrifice so that no more are needed.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Hebrews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He entered once for all into the holy places

  1. peaceiam7 says:

    openlettertogod.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

