Faith is the assurance of things hoped for

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation. By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible. Hebrews 11:1-3

Faith, what is it? Some say it is just wish fulfillment by simple minded folk who do not know better. Others are not that charitable. There are a lot of things we can have faith in. Most however will eventually disappoint us. I have faith that the sun will rise in the east every morning but at some time in the distant future that will not happen. I have faith that when I open a box of Girl Scout peanut butter sandwich cookies I will enjoy them. But what if the box is old and the cookies stale or the recipe is changed. Everything on earth that I put my faith in will eventually let me down, both people and things will always eventually let us down.

It matters what or whom we place trust in. I have faith that God will keep His promise to me that I will inherit eternal life. I cannot see God so why do I have faith? The reason is that I trust God and his assurances that He will always keep His promise to me. Why do I believe that? Because I have seen how God has kept His promises to Israel and the people I read about in the Bible.

Many will say I am not the brightest crayon on the box for having faith is someone I can neither see, feel or in any way sense in the normal way. My answer is that there is more than one way to confirm God exists. We are not left for a blind faith in some nebulous God. The evidence for God is abundant. The Bible is just one source. Of course the Bible is filled with eyewitness accounts of God and His works. Then we have the natural world of such wonders that if they did not exist we would think them impossible. The beauty and intricacy of everything we can see cries out for a creator.

Faith in God is not wish fulfillment. It is trust, but a trust that is well founded. One based on evidence there for all to see. One based on a promise that is as old as humankind.  Those who have faith in God will not be disappointed for in the end we will see what we were created for. An eternal life in eternal communion with the Creator of all things.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Hebrews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

