Blessed is she who believed

In those days Mary arose and went with haste into the hill country, to a town in Judah, and she entered the house of Zechariah and greeted Elizabeth. And when Elizabeth heard the greeting of Mary, the baby leaped in her womb. And Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit, and she exclaimed with a loud cry, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! And why is this granted to me that the mother of my Lord should come to me? For behold, when the sound of your greeting came to my ears, the baby in my womb leaped for joy. And blessed is she who believed that there would be a fulfillment of what was spoken to her from the Lord.” Luke 1:39-45

If you had an encounter with an angel would you believe it? Don’t answer too quickly. What if the angel told you something just about impossible was going to happen to you? What if what the angel told you had never happened in all of human history? Would you believe? I am not sure if I would not try to find an alternative explanation to what had just happened to me. Maybe I was happening reaction to one of my medications or maybe I had been out in the sun too long. After all angels just do not show up all that often.

Gabriel appears to Mary, something startling enough in its own right, but he then tells her that while she is still a virgin she will conceive and bear a son. Then the topper, this son was to be the Son of God. Mary does not argue with Gabriel, all she does is ask one question and then she accepts what she has been told. She believed.

I think if we are honest with ourselves we will have to admit that we would have a hard time believing something as extraordinary as what Gabriel told Mary. As Christians we are called on the believe the extraordinary. After all how many people have been executed, buried and then three days later came back to life? Only one person that I am aware of. God asks us to believe extraordinary things but He also holds out to us an extraordinary reward. Two thousand years later we have the benefit of eyewitness testimony to the extraordinary event in the life and death of Jesus. Still, these events are so unusual that many still have trouble believing.

Mary believed and she is remembered two thousand years later. Mary believed before it all started. Mary trusted God and His messenger. Can we do any less?

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessed is she who believed

  1. Thank you David, a very good confirmation, if I knew without doubt that the Angel was from God, I would believe, God’s Angels don’t lie they are His messengers and we know what Gabriel said was Truth because it was prophesied in The Old Testament but some worship angels and seek them instead of Jesus for guidance and Satan’s angels just like him lie, they seek to deceive.

    Galatians 1:8 But though we, or an angel from Heaven, preach any other gospel unto you than that which we have preached unto you, let him be accursed.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  2. dwwork says:

    Ann, thanks for your comment and have a God filled day.

Leave a Reply

