To keep me from becoming conceited 2

So to keep me from becoming conceited because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from becoming conceited. 2 Corinthians 12:7

Whenever I write about healing I always get comments. Some are concerned that I claim not to be healed from my colitis others that I do not go far enough when I write about my disease or that I am unclear as to who caused my colitis. Well, I never intend to cover all the possible ins and outs of the Bible when I write. I try to keep my writings to a page or less though sometimes I do indeed write more. First let me state that God never inflicted me with any infirmity. Most of the problems I and all of us suffer are due to living in a fallen world. Others are the direct result of choices we make, smoking is one example. Then there are the ones that God allows Satan to inflict. But God sets limits to how much Satan can do. Satan, though he may deny it, is under God’s authority. God can and does choose to heal our physical problems. But sometimes just as He chose not to remove the thorn in Paul’s side so He chooses not to heal us from a particular ailment. He does however give us the strength to carry on through our ailment.

Some will tell us that if our faith was stronger than God would heal us. One has to ask the question, was Paul lacking in faith? I think not. Paul was executed for his faith. His faith was strong enough to follow God’s leading across the Roman world, in and out of prisons and finally to a death in Rome. If Paul did not have enough faith to be healed then I am sorely lacking in that part of my walk. No, healing is not a reward for greater faith than others nor is lack of healing a result of not enough faith. God heals to show the world who He is. God also allows us to live with an affliction in order to show us and the world that He alone is enough for us.

So, am I healed? In one way I can answer yes I am and in another way I can answer not yet. What? Make sense. Either you are healed or you are not. How can you be both? Easy. But first let’s look at healing. When Jesus healed people they were completely healed. Not in remission but as though the affliction never existed. They were made whole.  When Jesus raised people from the dead they were fully alive. One thing they were not was forever healed. Not in their earthly bodies at least. Each and every one who was healed by Jesus and each and every one who was raised from the dead by Jesus eventually died. None of them are walking around today.

God’s plan is not that we be healed from every ailment in this life. His plan is that we use this life to be healed from the greatest ailment ever, sin. That is the healing we all need to strive for. Except that Jesus comes back beforehand all of us will die. This life is but a staging ground for eternity. This life is where we make the decision as to where and with whom we want to spend that eternity. In this life we make a choice to either spend eternity with God or spend it apart from Him. When we chose God that is when we will be truly healed. Not in this body that will always breakdown and decay but a new resurrected body that will never see decay.

When my father was diagnosed with lung cancer, I prayed for his healing. I prayed for healing every day. Dad stilled died. So, who lacked faith? Him? Me? Both of us? One may question both of our faith but what I learned is that God did indeed heal dad. Just not when and where I wanted. Dad is healed for all eternity. What more can I ask for.

Am I healed form my colitis? I honestly do not know. Maybe I am but maybe it will return. What I do know is that I will be healed in the only way that matters and to God that healing has already taken place. This life is not the life I will live forever but only a stop over to the life God created me to have. God allows us to go through hard times. We grow through adversity. It is the challenges in our lives that make us who we are. When things are too easy we cease to grow and stagnate. I know that my colitis helped to make me a better person. God allowed my colitis but He did not cause it. Just as tempered steel is stronger because it has gone through the fire so we are made stronger going through the fire of our adversities.

I hope two examples from nature will make my point. There is the caterpillar that goes through life eating living as a caterpillar, but being a caterpillar is not its destiny. No the caterpillar is destined for something greater. But in order to achieve that destiny they need to spin a cocoon or form a chrysalis and then the old body breaks down, the caterpillar dies but a new body begins to form from the old and what emerges is a beautiful butterfly. We are like the caterpillar in that this body we now inhibit is not our final form but a beautiful resurrected body is what is in store for us. One that will never taste death not illness or any infirmity.

As to struggles. If you have ever watched a butterfly emerge from its cocoon/chrysalis you see what a struggle it has. If some well-meaning human cuts open the cocoon in order to make the transition easy for the butterfly something bad happens. The butterfly’s wings never fully inflate and they are unable to fly. They are venerable to any predator unable to escape. It is the struggle that makes the butterfly. Just as it is the struggle that makes a Christian. None of us will ever be completely healed on this earth. But to God each believer is already healed from the ravages of sin.

Have a blessed day,

David

PS: That is my opinion on healing. Feel free to disagree. And yes, for those counting I have gone over a page. Hopefully it made some sense.

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Comentary, Devotional, God, Paul's letters and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To keep me from becoming conceited 2

  1. Those David who claim that God does not heal Majestically today, have either never been healed or don’t know anyone that has, so they put God in a Box of their own understanding. God is the only Healer regardless of the tools He uses including Doctors and those with the gift of healing. Satan cannot do good like heal someone but he does deceive. Some of God’s tools are given for just a period of time, some permanently, He knows how much we can endure and He also saves us from death if it is not our allotted time, He has healed me of more than one life treating condition.

    God does not allow Satan to afflict us He tolerates all evil, for Him to put an end to all evil which includes sickness, He would have to end the world but He is patient not wanting anyone to perish.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    God cannot heal us if we doubt that He can or will, it’s like asking for His gift of wisdom without Faith in believing that He will give it to us (James 1:4-6 ) also He cannot heal us if we continue to sin without heart repentance, that is why He tells us to go to the Elders and repent.

    James 5:14-15 Is any sick among you? let him call for the elders of the Church; and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord: And the prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up; and if he have committed sins, they shall be forgiven him.

    This was the way God healed me 17 years ago, through repentance an an Elder anointing me, at the time I had Heart failure which I was to have Open Heart surgery for to hopefully save my life but it disappeared and also Chronic Asthma that I had for 10 years and was on a machine morning and night, it also disappeared 17 years ago and He has healed me of other conditions since that may not have been life threatening but would have been hard to endure, although one was suspected Breast Cancer but the lump which was advanced when found, just disappeared within a week and I have had Signs and Wonders too. All the conditions that disappeared have been medically documented and the Signs and Wonders witnessed by others, I have Posted in detail about all of these, I have friends who were healed Majestically too and also have a friend Peter, who God has also used to heal people, including me.

    I’m still disabled in my feet and have Arthritis in my neck and shoulders, neither of these conditions are life threatening and Medication which is one of God’s tools helps greatly, and also the Balm He gave me through Peter but I have no doubt that if needed He would also heal me of these conditions but I have much to give thanks to Him for already.

    As I explained before the thorn was a reminder to Paul that his flesh had not been put to death, which he talks about in Romans7, he had fleshy pride but Paul than tells us what to do about our flesh in Romans 8 & 6 and in other Scriptures.

    Was Paul healed, the Scriptures do not tell us and we remember Paul told Timothy to have wine for healing and we all die of something, but God can and does heal today Majestically.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

