Glorifying and praising God

When the angels went away from them into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, “Let us go over to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has made known to us.” And they went with haste and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby lying in a manger. And when they saw it, they made known the saying that had been told them concerning this child. And all who heard it wondered at what the shepherds told them. But Mary treasured up all these things, pondering them in her heart. And the shepherds returned, glorifying and praising God for all they had heard and seen, as it had been told them. Luke 2:15-20

Who have you told about Jesus? Anyone lately? Today we tend to be a bit shy about sharing the Good News but the shepherds told others what they had witnessed. They may not have been believed but they did not let that stop them from sharing. In fact Luke tells us that the people wondered about what the shepherds told them. Probably many thought that a bunch of shepherds were no to be believed. After all they were just shepherds. So I imagine than many people in and around Bethlehem missed the birth of their Messiah.

Sometimes people let the messenger get in the way of the message. Too often we let what someone does for a living or the way they look cause us to discount anything they say. A number of years ago, at least 15 years, we stopped at Wendy’s for lunch after church with our two youngest. Both were under ten. Two bikers came into the restaurant and sat near us. They both had scraggly beards and long hair and were wearing their colors. Grease under the fingernails, they looked out of place in a suburban Wendy’s. Everyone was staring but trying not to look like they were staring. I happened to notice the name of the “gang’ they were affiliated with and saw that it was Soldiers for Jesus. Hey, these guys were my brothers. Yes they could not have looked any more different but inside we both followed the same Lord.

Well as it happened both we and the two bikers finished our meals at the same time. I took the opportunity to introduce myself and also to introduce our kids to them. They showed us their bikes and we talked a bit about where we went to church. It was a teachable moment for me and my kids. I was able to show them that you did not need to dress in a suit and tie to be a believer. Jesus’ followers come in all shapes, sizes and dress. Too often we tend to judge other by how they look on the outside rather than how they are on the inside. I never saw those two guys again but I need to thank them for the opportunity they gave us that day.

Turns out there are a number of bike clubs that while looking like the stereotypical biker in the movies are Jesus disciples. They bring the Good News to people that unfortunately way too many churches would feel uncomfortable having in their building. I can’t help but think that is how the people of Bethlehem felt about those shepherds. In letting the shepherd’s appearance and occupation color their view of them many missed the birth of the King of Kings. We all need to think about what our prejudices have caused us to miss.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Glorifying and praising God

  1. Yes very True David, when we have inner Joy in our heart we just have to share why, the Holy Spirit is not Mute, I often share that the Bible is my Brag Book and it’s True. How Awesome is the Author and how amazing that He is my Abba Father, have you a few hours to spare David I just have to share with you all about my Daddy and all the wonderful things He does for me and you too, but than you do read my messages and comments and His Truth and Joy is in your heart too.

    We use to know a Christian Bikie, he was one of their Pastors and he often sent us information about their Ministry outreach, before this he was one of those real tough Bikies and always in trouble with the Police, than Jesus rescued him and he softened and became a gentle Loving man and nothing was too much of a bother for him, others always came first.

    I have a Story about Bikies I will leave the link for you, if you haven’t read it before it may surprise you or maybe not, I received it by e-mail years ago and adapted it by adding music pictures etc than forwarded it on to others, I adapted e-mail Stories for many years and was greatly blessed through others gifting.

    Bikies – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/neighbours-in-disguise/

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

