She began to give thanks to God

And there was a prophetess, Anna, the daughter of Phanuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was advanced in years, having lived with her husband seven years from when she was a virgin, and then as a widow until she was eighty-four. She did not depart from the temple, worshiping with fasting and prayer night and day. And coming up at that very hour she began to give thanks to God and to speak of him to all who were waiting for the redemption of Jerusalem. Luke 2:36-38

When is the last time you thanked God for all the blessings He has given you? We really should do so every day. But we tend to get busy or we are so caught up in our own troubles and needs that we spend what little time we have with God going through a list of things we want Him to do for us. Too often we treat this short stop over here on earth as the end all and be all of our existence.

God gives us a certain amount of time here to make one decision, where do we want to spend eternity. Do we want to spend it with God or do we want to spend it apart from God. Either way God will honor our decision. If we have decided to spend eternity with God then He has some additional things He wants us to do in our time on this earth. We are to tell others about Him. We are to worship and praise Him and we are to thank Him.

God really does not ask much from us. This is especially true when we look at how many blessings He has given us. If we just took a few minutes to count our blessings we would be ashamed at how infrequently we take time to thank Him. I know that I often forget to take the time to thank Him. Too often I am more concerned with my list of what I want from God. Forgetting that He owes me nothing and that I owe Him everything.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

