The favor of God was upon him

And when they had performed everything according to the Law of the Lord, they returned into Galilee, to their own town of Nazareth. And the child grew and became strong, filled with wisdom. And the favor of God was upon him. Luke 2:39-40

Have you ever thought what it would be like to grow up with Jesus as your older brother? Constantly having to hear, “why can’t you be more like Jesus?” Is it any wonder when Jesus began His ministry that His siblings were a bit distant, even hostile. I can just imagine what Jesus siblings must have thought. “Great, he did everything right growing up. Mom and dad’s favorite child and now he thinks he is God. “No, growing up in that household must have been hard for the rest of Mary and Joseph’s children.

Actually we know almost nothing about Jesus childhood. Luke and Matthew give us a few brief snatches of Jesus as a child with most of the story about His birth. In reading today’s verses I am reminded of the Rich Mullen song Boy Like Me / Man Like You in which Mullen asks questions of Jesus such as “Well, did You grow up hungry? Did You grow up fast? Did the little girls giggle when You walked past? Did You wonder what it was that made them laugh? And You was a boy like I was once but was You a boy like me .Well, I grew up around Indiana You grew up around Galilee And if I ever really do grow up Lord I want to grow up and be just like You. Well, did You wrestle with a dog and lick his nose? Did You play beneath the spray of a water hose? Did You ever make angels in the winter snow? And did they tell You stories ’bout the saints of old? Stories about their faith? They say stories like that make a boy grow bold stories like that make a man walk straight.” These are questions I have had myself. Did Jesus have the same experiences we all have as children. My thought is yes he did. The only difference was Jesus did not sin. Something the rest of us just cannot do.

I am surf Jesus played just like all kids. He most likely helped Joseph around the carpentry shop learning His father’s trade. He laughed and cried, ran and jumped. But I wonder when He looked up at the stars did part of Him look in wonder as I have done but just maybe another part looked at them and thought so that is how they look from down here. Luke tells us Jesus grew in strength and wisdom. He tells us that Jesus had God’s favor upon Him. We need to remember that Jesus was fully human. He experienced life just as we do today. Just as we had to do so Jesus had to wait for His body and brain to develop from baby to adult.

There is really nothing that we experience that Jesus did not also experience. Different part of the world and different time but Jesus had to grow to adulthood just like you and me. He willingly gave up His home in heaven in order to show us His unconditional love. He did it so that you and I could become reconciled with God. He did all that for you and me.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The favor of God was upon him

  1. He was fully God and fully man. So true, be incomprehensible to fully understand. If both weren’t true we would still be in our sins. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

