They did not understand the saying that he spoke to them

Now his parents went to Jerusalem every year at the Feast of the Passover. And when he was twelve years old, they went up according to custom. And when the feast was ended, as they were returning, the boy Jesus stayed behind in Jerusalem. His parents did not know it, but supposing him to be in the group they went a day’s journey, but then they began to search for him among their relatives and acquaintances, and when they did not find him, they returned to Jerusalem, searching for him. After three days they found him in the temple, sitting among the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions. And all who heard him were amazed at his understanding and his answers. And when his parents saw him, they were astonished. And his mother said to him, “Son, why have you treated us so? Behold, your father and I have been searching for you in great distress.” And he said to them, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” And they did not understand the saying that he spoke to them. Luke 2:41-50

Both Mary and Joseph had the angel Gabriel tell them that Jesus was to be the Son of God the long awaited Messiah. Not only that but Gabriel told them to name the baby Jesus. Still after all that they were confused when Jesus told them “Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” It is not that they were not aware of who their son was and what his importance was; I think they just got caught up in life.

It is easy to do. We get so caught up in making sure the kids get to where they need to be. Or we get bogged down by deadlines at work. We get up in the morning and hastily dress run to the car and fight traffic to get to work on time and reverse the process in the evening. We are planning meals and household chores. There is just so much we need to do and just a finite amount of time to do it all. So things get forgotten or put on the back burner. And unfortunately one of those things tends to be God.

Everyone else is constantly and loudly demanding of our time but God does not scream at us or demand we pay attention to Him. So in the uproar of life we let God get drowned out by everything else. We constantly operate in the squeaky wheel mode and whatever is loudest today gets done. So because God is not screaming He gets ignored. We tend to forget what He tells us in Psalms, “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations I will be exalted in the earth!” Psalms 49:10.

We all need to stop for a moment, sit down and clear away to clutter in life and take some time to listen to God. If we do that we just might find that so many of the things we are doing really do not matter all that much. Of just maybe we might find that once we put God in His proper place at the head of our life everything else falls in place and we still can get down all we need to do and have time for God.

That is what I found out years ago. Both my wife and I worked; we had three kids to take care of along with a home, a yard that needed weekly mowing, cars and other commitments in a modern life. I just could not see how I could spend an hour or two every Sunday going to church. There was never enough time to begin with and I could not see how I could add anything else. However at my wife’s insistence we started going to church. First just to worship service and then to Sunday school and guess what? That time I spent with God enabled me to be better prepared for the rest of the week. I found not only was I able to get all that needed doing done and was able to spend even more time with God. Eventually joining the choir, teaching Sunday school and now writing these short essays. All it took was getting my priorities straight.

It is easy to get lost in living. Just look at Mary and Joseph. But when we schedule God out of our lives we find that everything is harder and we just cannot seem to get it all done. But once we put first things first, God that is, then everything else makes sense.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

