You shall not put the Lord your God to the test

And he took him to Jerusalem and set him on the pinnacle of the temple and said to him, “If you are the Son of God, throw yourself down from here, for it is written, “‘He will command his angels concerning you, to guard you,’ and “‘On their hands they will bear you up, lest you strike your foot against a stone.’ ” And Jesus answered him, “It is said, ‘You shall not put the Lord your God to the test.’ ” And when the devil had ended every temptation, he departed from him until an opportune time. Luke 4:9-13

Satan tried another temptation. This time Satan challenges Jesus to prove He is the Son of God. Satan takes Jesus to the top of the Temple and challenges Jesus to jump off the Temple in order to let the angels of God rescue Jesus and keep Him from getting hurt or killed. Once again Jesus turns to scripture to rebuke Satan

In Deuteronomy 6:16 we are specifically told not to put God to a test. Now most of us will not jump off a building to see if God will save us but we all put God to tests to see if He really is who he says He is. When we do something in order to test to see if God will stop us or rescue us from our willful action what we are really doing is trying to sin while putting the blame for the sin on God. I did not what to steal that item and would not have if only God had stopped me. So it really is not my fault but God’s.

This is just a flip side of the devil made me do it argument. It is not my fault I do these things. If God really loves me He would stop me. When in fact we do not want to stop doing what we are doing. It is only when we make the choice to turn our lives over to God and let the Spirit work in our lives that we will cease or at least reduce our sinful actions.

As we finish today’s verses we see that eventually Satan leaves Jesus after he has tempted with every temptation he could. We are not told what else Satan tempted Jesus with. But he did tempt Jesus with the flesh, ending Jesus’ hunger, the easy way out, worship me and I will give you everything and finally ego, prove that you are the Son of God. In all these temptations and more Jesus resisted.

He resisted the easy way out so that you and I could have a way to regain a right relationship with God. He did all this because of His great love for each of us.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

