He called his disciples and chose from them twelve

In these days he went out to the mountain to pray, and all night he continued in prayer to God. And when day came, he called his disciples and chose from them twelve, whom he named apostles: Simon, whom he named Peter, and Andrew his brother, and James and John, and Philip, and Bartholomew, and Matthew, and Thomas, and James the son of Alphaeus, and Simon who was called the Zealot, and Judas the son of James, and Judas Iscariot, who became a traitor. Luke 6:12-16

When we think about Jesus disciples we usually just think about the twelve mentioned in today’s verses but Luke tells us that there were more than just twelve and that Jesus singled out the twelve to be apostles. The word used in the New Testament is ἀπόστολος (apóstolos), meaning one who is sent away and sometimes messenger is used as a synonym. After the resurrection Jesus would send the apostles out into the world to spread the Gospel. Jesus also sent them out during His ministry to preach to the Jews in Palestine.

Jesus would go on to personally instruct the twelve in the Gospel so that they would be able to go out into the world and continue Jesus’ ministry. I have a hard time imagining how special it would feel to sit at Jesus feet and be taught by Him. Yet even though we cannot literally sit at Jesus’ feet and be taught by Him, He has through the apostles and the New Testament sent His word down to the centuries to each of us.

When you hold the Bible in your hands you are getting ready to sit at the feet of God and hear what He wants to teach you. These lessons do not stop with a single reading but continue with each successive reading. I believe I could read the Bible a thousand times and when I had finished the thousandth reading I would still find something new in God’s word. Not because His Word changed but because I had changed and was ready to absorb additional knowledge. The more I learn the more I am able to learn.

That is why I always encourage every Christian to read the Bible from Genesis to Revelation. And then do it again. In fact every time I write one of these essays I find some new insight I had not noticed before. I would be willing to bet that if I started writing all over again what I write about each verse would be slightly different. That is the beauty of God’s Word. You can learn all you need for salvation in a single reading but as you mature God reveals more to you each time. The words never change but we do.

Have a blessed day,

David

I have not said this recently but something I read yesterday brought it to mind. Whatever I write in these essays are my words not God’s and everything I write needs to be vouched by God’s word. If I write something that does not jibe with God’s word please let me know immediately so I can correct my error. Only God’s word is inerrant. Mine is not.

Thanks again for all your encouragement and taking time to read what I write.

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to He called his disciples and chose from them twelve

  1. When Christianity’s chickens come home to roost, there’s going to be a serious ruffling of feathers.

    • dwwork says:

      Not exactly sure what you mean by your comment.

      • What the comment about Christianity’s chickens coming home to roost means is that The Crusades, the Inquisition, the assorted book burnings, and people burning, and why not the Holocaust too, are all in need of an atonement. And exalting the name of Christendom’s designated enemy is no doubt the one reproach that every Sunday morning pew-jockey could in no-wise fail to appreciate at it’s true value.

      • dwwork says:

        I will reply in full tomorrow. I want to give your chickens a good response. Also, where exactly do you fall on the religions spectrum? It would be helpful in my response. Have a blessed day, David

      • My religious affiliation should not be a criteria for a response on your part. But to be amicable about it, I have no official doctrine, other than the truth.

  2. dwwork says:

    You are correct about not needing to know where you are in the religious spectrum and I wrote my reply before I saw your new one. I am pleased to find your are a seeker of truth because I am also. That is what led me to Christianity. Now for my reply.

    As promised here is my response to your comment about Christianity’s chickens coming home to roost. First let me say you did product the usual list of Christians behaving badly. I know of no Christians today who approves of these things done in Christ’s name. And yes Christians do bad things. We do not always live up to the standard Christ set for us. But a major part of being Christian is admitting that we all fall short of the ideal. None of us can live a sin free life. That is why Jesus came to earth to atone for the sins of all humanity. He did what we could not and all He asks of each of us is to accept His free gift of salvation. Ok enough preaching; let’s get to your list.
    I will take them out of order because you have on item that is definitely not the result of any Christian, the Holocaust. Hitler and his Nazi henchmen were not Christians in fact they renounced Christianity as not an Arian religion and wanted to bring back the pagan religions of the Germans and the Norse. At bet they were pagan and I believe as do most historians that they were atheists. What always gets lost in these discussions is that atheists have killed more people in the20th century than all the wars fought before and after.
    Let’s look at the Crusades. First the reason the crusades were fought at all is because Islam has used the sword to conquer all of the Middle East, North Africa, Turkey, most of the Iberian Peninsula and other parts of Europe. The crusades were an attempt to win back Jerusalem from Islam. Islam has from its beginning been a religion of conquest. Mohammad spread Islam via the sword. He was a leader of armies. Jesus on the other hand led twelve disciples. Did Christians commit atrocities? Of course they did. Many went on the crusades in order to assure themselves of heaven. Something that the Roman Church had terribly wrong as we cannot earn heaven it is a free gift.
    The Inquisitions and I assume you are referring to the burning of witches and heretics are once again something of the distant past. They are unjustified and I know of no Christian today who thinks they were a good idea. Most of us wish they had never happened. Anyone with time on their hand can pick out atrocities committed in the name of a belief system. From Buddhist to Christians to any religion you can think of and atheist also there is an almost endless list of bad things done in the name of what seems a good idea. Many bad things done in the name of Christianity were done by people who just did not really understand what Jesus stood for.
    I believe one should judge a religion on what the founder taught not how some managed to twist these teachings to their own devises. Jesus taught we should love our enemies as well as one another. He was a man of peace. Christianity spread not by the sword but by word of mouth enduring all the Roman Empire could do to stomp it out. It was a message of love and hope and reconciliation with God.
    I wanted to respond to your last sentence but for the life of me I cannot fathom who you are referring to when you write ”that exalting the name of Christendom’s enemy is no doubt the one reproach that every Sunday morning pew-jockey could in no-wise fail to appreciate it’s true value.” The enemy of Christendom and for that matter all of humanity is Satan. As far as I know Satan’s name has never been exalted in a Christian church. But I somehow do not think Satan is who you are referring to so please clarify.
    I am not sure how much you truly know of Christianity or the Bible so it is a bit difficult to answer your real issues with Christianity. I had asked yesterday about your religious beliefs if any. But I appreciate your taking the time to read my blog and comment on it. I look forward to a continued dialog. And please let me know if I have misunderstood your comments.
    Have a blessed day,
    David
    Also, fro the next few days I will be on vacation so my internet access may be spotty.

    • Thank you for taking the time to reply. Firstly, I would disagree that the Holocaust could have ever taken place if church-sponsored anti-Semitism hadn’t been the order of the day for centuries on end, throughout the length and breadth of Christendom. And the Holocaust as well just happened to take place in the Fatherland of Protestantism. Moreover, Isaiah writes that the sons of those who persecuted Israel would pay for their father’s transgressions. And you think that Satan is the designated enemy of Christendom, so let’s see if we can’t agree that Judas is the doormat of Christendom. And you claim that Jesus was a man of peace, when in fact he proclaimed for all the world to hear, that he came not to bring peace, but a sword, and division. And sure enough, he and followers have done a bang-up job of it. And the most appropriate payback is to exalt the name Christendom’s doormat. And if anyone truly understands the bible, they know that indeed this is exactly what is meant to be done.

      • dwwork says:

        Thanks for your reply. In your previous comment you said you are a seeker of truth, however it seems that you only seek such truths as substantiate your already held beliefs. It appears your holocaust ideas are taken from Wikipedia and then only the part that that fits your theses. You might be correct if all the Nazis did was put the Jews in a ghetto or if the only victims were Jews. Yes there was persecution of Jews as there was persecution of Christians by the Jews and Romans in the first two centuries. Is the a time limit on persecution? The Jews and Christians were persecuted by Islam. Germany did seem to be ripe for what happened they had a history of distrust of the Jews. What happened is that Hitler and his henchmen took this distrust and brought it to a higher level. What the Nazi “final solution” was about was to bring about a pure Aryan race. To do so they systematically murdered Jews, Gypsies, Slavs, communists, homosexuals, the mentally and physically disabled Christians and members of other groups. In all 11 million people were killed. Your argument leaves out the 5 million non-Jews that were also murdered. There was nothing Christian about the Nazis in the twentieth century alone atheists have killed more people than all other religious groups combined and all wars fought.
        Your assertion that all this took place in the Fatherland of Protestantism commits the non sequitur logical fallacy. Just because two things happen in the same place does not follow that they are related. In fact Protestantism while it started in Germany was a phenomenon over all Europe. There is John Wycliffe in England, Ulrich Zwingli in Switzerland and John Calvin of France among others who were all involved in the Protestant Reformation.
        I love it when someone quotes the Bible yet leaves out the verses they are quoting. It usually means they are taking the verse out of context as you have done in your comment. I hope it was inadvertent but either way your use of the verses show you either have not read all of the Bible or if you have you choose to ignore the context.
        I will start with the easy one first. When you quoted Matthew 10:34 “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword.” You have disregarded its context. Jesus is talking to the Jews, the Jews were Matthews audience, and is telling His Jewish followers what is going to happen when they follow Him. Remember, Jesus’ followers self-identified as Jews not Christians that came much later. They were Jews who believed that the promised Messiah had come in Jesus. A sword is used to cleave and that is what happened to the families of those who followed Jesus. They were cleaved in two. Sons followed Jesus while fathers did not. What I found particularly interesting is you stopped before you reached Matthew 26:46-56. Maybe you have never read that far but the night Jesus was arrested one of the disciples took out a sword and cut the ear off a servant of the high priest. Jesus then said “Put your sword back into its place. For all who take the sword will perish by the sword. 53 Do you think that I cannot appeal to my Father, and he will at once send me more than twelve legions of angels? 54 But how then should the Scriptures be fulfilled, that it must be so?” Matthew 26:52-54 You have also chose to ignore the many verses where Jesus talks about love such as loving one’s enemies or that the greatest commandment is the love God with all your heart, soul and mind and your neighbor as yourself. Then there are the writings of Paul which also put love above all else. You say “And if anyone truly understands the bible, they know that indeed this is exactly what is meant to be done.’ Yet is appears to me you do not understand the primary theme of the Bible and that is God’s love.
        Let’s go on the Isaiah. I searched to find the passage you refer to and come up with something in either Isaiah 14 or Isaiah 60. Neither of which are close to the meaning you ascribe to Isaiah. I am assuming that you meant Isaiah 14 as Isaiah 60 refers to the end times when Israel will once aging be exalted and all the nations will come the Jerusalem to worship and pay tribute to God. However if you are referring to chapter 14 then you are way off base. Isaiah is writing about Satan also known as Day Star and son of dawn when he writes “How you are fallen from heaven, O Day Star, son of Dawn! How you are cut down to the ground, you who laid the nations low! 13 You said in your heart, ‘I will ascend to heaven; above the stars of God I will set my throne on high; I will sit on the mount of assembly in the far reaches of the north; 14 I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will make myself like the Most High.’ 15 But you are brought down to Sheol, to the far reaches of the pit.” Finally once again you miss the point of the Bible. God is all loving and ready to forgive all who turn to Him. I honestly cannot imagine how anyone can read the entire Bible with an open mind and not see this simple fact, God is a God of love.
        Finally I have no idea how you come up with the idea that Judas is somehow misunderstood or a hero. He chose to betray Jesus and there is nothing honorable about betrayal. Maybe you are using the Gnostic Gospel of Judas which in most likely a late second of early third century document in fragmentary condition. It was written between 100 and 200 years after the events of the New Testament. Either way it is too far after events to be taken as in any way an accurate description of events in AD 30. If you have another source I would be interested in reading it.
        Finally, I appreciate your comments and the chance to reply to them. Once again I want to reemphasize that the overall theme of the Bible is God’s love and forgiveness. Just reading of all the times God forgave Israel and took them back shows this. The New Testament only further shows this great love.
        Have a blessed day,
        David

      • Good day. Actually, I just happened to come upon your response by accident when cleaning out my inbox. You had a lot to say. It’s rather vain to keep going back and forth on this issue. You have your opinion and I have mine, and if we meet in the middle, it will be a miracle. As a sort of response, let me ask , can a good tree bear bad fruit? So what about the crimes of Christianity? And it’s still possible to believe in God without being Christian. But here’s perhaps the biggest flaw in your faith. When at that fateful supper, a woman entered and proceeded to perform a lavish anointing of Jesus in order to prepare him for his forthcoming burial, his disciples grew indignant, arguing to a man that the expensive perfume which the woman had used, should have been sold and the money given to the poor. And the crux of the problem is here. For in the way that it’s been presented, the anointing of Jesus, and consequently, your eternal salvation as well, have both been made to be contingent upon a slighting of the poor. Obviously Judas was right to go out straightaway to confer with the authorities about elaborating a plan of betrayal. And look at the current situation, with a gaggle of mega-churches preaching a form of sanctified materialism while the majority of humans on earth are struggling just to keep alive. Is this truly what God wants? In closing, let it be said that for all intents and purposes, Judas Is Jesus, writ large. And that the reason that Jesus speaks in parables is because he is a parable, for his alter-ego, Judas. And if you understand The New Testament, the name it wants you to promote is Judas Iscariot’s. After all, did you never betray Jesus?

  3. dwwork says:

    I would have to agree with you that the chance of us finding some middle ground is next to nothing. What I would like to add to this discussion is I feel you have a distorted view of what Christianity is. It is not some ethnic group or any group at all. Christianity at its most basic is one person having a relationship with God, pure and simple. It is not dominations nor is it like Judaism which is tied to an ethnicity. Christians come from every ethnic group. Yes we meet in groups some of which are denominational but that is not what makes a Christian. It is a decision of one person to make this commitment to God and ask God to forgive our sins. You seem to have formed the idea that any wrong committed by any Christian should be paid for by all Christians. I can find nowhere in the Bible any conformation of this idea and especially not in the New Testament. Do you believe all Jews should be held accountable for the sins committed by other Jews? How about Muslims? Each person is responsible for their own sins, which is enough for one to bear.
    As to your interpretation of the anointing of Jesus’ feet by the woman, first this was a Jewish custom. We can see this in the version Luke 7:36-50. Luke also tells us why Judas was upset with the expense, not for the poor but to line his own pockets. Jesus also tells us in all four accounts that this anointing would not do away with the poor. The poor are with us always and nothing we can do will resolve this. The US government starts a war on poverty during the Johnson administration and over forty years later not a dent has been made. What do you do to help the poor? My church has a food pantry and I personally support the food pantry in my city. It has been my experience that Christian churches are the first to come to the aid of those in need. The Red Cross was formed by Christians as were most hospitals and retirement homes before corporations found they could make money at them. Once again you pick one passage, although at least this time it is mentioned in all four Gospels, and try to make some case against Jesus and Christianity. Yet you omit all the healings Jesus did. The raising of the dead and the teachings of love and God. Do you think the poor are the result of Christianity? If so you need to include all the good done by Christians such as ending slavery in the West, the equality of women, hospitals and many other things.
    I am still confused as to how you equate Judas and Jesus. I asked last time for some reference material which you have yet to provide. As far as the Bible is concerned there is no reason to equate the two. Jesus taught in parables because that was the style of the time. To equate a teaching style with Jesus being a parable is beyond logic. It is a leap I for one cannot see much less take. And no, I have not betrayed Jesus. Not in any sense of the word that I know. Do I sin, yes I do but that is why Jesus came into this world. Judas turned against Jesus and set Jesus up for execution is the most horrible manner. That is betrayal.
    In closing, Christianity is a personal relationship with God not a religion. Yes religions have sprung up in Christianity but denominations are not Christianity each Christian is Christianity. Each Christian in a personal relationship with God through the sacrifice of Jesus. I do understand the New Testament, you do not. Any reasonable reading of the New Testament will lead to a conclusion far from what you have concluded. In fact nowhere in the New Testament can you beliefs be found. As far as I can discern they can be found only in your own head and nowhere else. Of course if you can point to some source I would be ready to read it.
    Have a blessed day,
    David

    • riq says:

      Jesus, whose name means Salvation, apparently for you is , or was, a real person. For me, he remains the thing itself, salvation. And like the Jews of the day who tried on their own to apprehend Jesus (Salvation), they were however unable to do so until they had the guidance and good offices of one particularly disreputable but most providential person. And the same holds true today. For just as no one comes to the Father but through Jesus, so no one gets to Jesus without his betrayer.

      • dwwork says:

        I have to admit your comments get more bizarre each time. I ask for references and I get your current reply. I have searched in vain for anything on the internet that would back up your misguided view of Jesus and the Bible but found nothing. So one more time.
        First Jesus or Yeshua (ישוע) in the Aramaic means God (Yah) is salvation. And yes there are other variations on the Hebrew/Aramaic name but all have the same translation. Of course I believe that Jesus was and is a real person. To do otherwise is to ignore all the evidence. From the Gospel writers to Paul and the other New Testament authors to Josephus, the Jewish Talmuds and other writers during and shortly after Jesus life and death all agree that Jesus was a real person. If He was not real then how in the world could Judas betray Him or the Jewish ruling classes want to put Him to death?
        As to the Jews of the day, they wanted to arrest Jesus away from the crowd so as not to incite a riot. Judas as an insider would know when Jesus would be secluded and He could be arrested with little fanfare. Of course all of this is in the New Testament for anyone to read. Judas was just an instrument used by God to move His plan ahead and nothing else. Maybe Judas is a gateway to perdition but not to Jesus and not to salvation. Salvation comes only through God with Jesus the only intermediary. I fear that your reliance on Judas to the exclusion of Jesus will end in your ultimate separation from God. We need no gateway to Jesus we can approach Him directly. That is why He came. Jesus is not a thing or some nebulous idea but real, God incarnate and God with us. John quotes Jesus in chapter 14 verse six of his gospel as follows “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” We do not need Judas only Jesus.
        Unfortunate your belief system is neither supported by God’s Word, reason or the facts. I apologize for being so blunt but you are mistaken. Mistaken about Jesus, mistaken about Judas, mistaken in your understanding of the Bible and the New Testament in particular and mistaken about God.
        Still waiting for those references. Have a blessed day,
        David

      • There are none so blind as those who refuse to see. The Yah in Yahshua, that you mentioned, is also to be found Yahudah, the namesake of Judas. And although it’s no doubt a case of casting pearls before swine (nothing personal), here is a thing of beauty. Jacob foretold of his son, Judah, that in the last days he shall wash his clothes in wine, and his garments in the blood of grapes. Judas of course, hung himself in a field of blood, which is about the most perfect simile for vineyard that it is possible to find. Jesus calls himself the true vine, but it can be seen that allegorically, the title goes to Judas. Additionally, Jesus says that he and the Father are one, and that when you see Jesus, you don’t see him, but he who sent him. And the one who sent Jesus, packing that is, is as you know, Judas. To see the two as one is exactly what Jesus is trying to teach you. And by doing so, you do away with that old devil, duality. One day, may it be soon, everyone will know these things. Shalom.

      • dwwork says:

        Since you have a propensity to misquote the Bible let’s take a look at what Matthew wrote. I have bolded the passages that you allude to.
        Then when Judas, his betrayer, saw that Jesus was condemned, he changed his mind and brought back the thirty pieces of silver to the chief priests and the elders, saying, “I have sinned by betraying innocent blood.” They said, “What is that to us? See to it yourself.” And throwing down the pieces of silver into the temple, he departed, and he went and hanged himself. But the chief priests, taking the pieces of silver, said, “It is not lawful to put them into the treasury, since it is blood money.” So they took counsel and bought with them the potter’s field as a burial place for strangers. Therefore that field has been called the Field of Blood to this day. Then was fulfilled what had been spoken by the prophet Jeremiah, saying, “And they took the thirty pieces of silver, the price of him on whom a price had been set by some of the sons of Israel, and they gave them for the potter’s field, as the Lord directed me.” (Matthew 27:3-10 ESV)
        As Matthew recounts the story Judas after Jesus has been condemned suffers remorse and confesses to the priest that he has handed over an innocent man and attempts to give the money back. Since the priest realize it is blood money they cannot use it in the Temple so they buy a field to bury the poor, a potter’s field. There is no mention here or anywhere else that Judas hanged himself in the field the priest bought later. The reason it was called the Field of Blood is it was bought by blood money not that Judas hung himself there. We have no clue where Judas killed himself. You really need to stop trying to fit the scriptures into your unorthodox beliefs about Judas because you do a very poor job of it. It takes me longer to type my response than to refute your ideas. I found your reference to none so blind that they cannot see very amusing as your blindness to what the New Testament says is the reason you have everything backward.
        I brought up the Yah in Yeshua not to get into a what do Jewish names mean but to say that Jesus name actually means God saves not Judas or any other mortal. Jesus saves because He is God. Once again you make a claim for Judas unsubstantiated by ant facts. Jacob foretold the Promised Land that Judah would inherit. We are told that the Messiah, Jesus, would come from the tribe of Judah through David. No such linage can be substantiated for Judas. We have no genealogy for Judas. Or do you mean that anyone named Judas could claim what Jacob told Judah?
        Judas did not send Jesus packing as you so glibly wrote. All Judas ever did was betray the Son of God. Yes when they saw Jesus they saw the Father because as Jesus tells us He and the Father are one. One essence but two distinct persons.
        So, let’s tally up your mistakes, Jacob prophesy about his son Judah had nothing to do with Judas, we have no way to tell where Judas hung himself, the Field of Blood was named not because of Judas but because the field was bought with bold money and Judas has nothing to do with salvation other than betraying his master, Jesus.
        Do you have anyone other than yourself who actually believes this line of thinking or are you a Judas cult of one. Billions of people have been reading and studying the New Testament for almost two thousand years and you are the only one to figure this out? That is the height of hubris and pride. You have yet to provide one iota of proof for your beliefs other than you one feeling that you are correct. I have done every search of the internet I know of and cannot find any support for your ideas. Do you really think you are that much smarter than everyone else? The simple fact is that there is not one verse in the Bible that mentions Judas that supports your contention that it is Judas not Jesus that is the gateway to salvation. All you have been able to do is pull verses out of context and then shoehorn them into your Judas theology. That might convenes someone who has never opened a Bible but few others.
        I expect some references to support your ideas or I see no reason to continue supporting your delusions.
        I do pray for you that you will see the truth of the Gospel.
        David

      • Whew! But not everything that is new is necessarily bad. Or maybe yes, to ultra-conservatives.

      • Since the name Jesus, when translated from the Hebrew, Yeshua, means salvation, when people say that Jesus saves, they’re in effect saying that salvation saves. This is the sort of redundant oversimplification which could only appeal to a Christian. Jesus says that he and the Father are one. He also says that he will make known to the world, the name of the Father, but then he never does. Or if you believe he did, then what is the name of the mysterious Father?

    • When Jesus foretold of his death, it is written that his disciples were unable to comprehend what he was saying , because to them his words were as that of a strange language of which they were unable to seize the sense. “I shall be handed over to sinners”, says he, “who shall mock me and entreat me spitefully, and they shall put me to death, and on the third day, I shall rise.” Here’s why Judas is Jesus, writ large. Because for during the last two thousand years it is Judas who has been in the hand of self-confessed sinners (Christians), who have indeed subjected him to the worst treatment imaginable, and who would have you believe that he’s dead. But now, on the third day, as time is counted unto the Lord, it is the name of Judas Iscariot which is on the ascendant. If you would get off your anti-Semitic kick, and open up a bit to reality and to allegory, you might, with a bit of concentrated effort be able to understand this.

      • dwwork says:

        Other than to say you are wrong in every way there is nothing else I can add. You have the most bizarre interpretation of the New Testament I have ever heard. I have done internet searches and still can find no evidence to back up your belief. Following Judas leads only to the pit. No Christian I know follows Judas and certainly the Christian church is not Judas. As far as I am concerned this conversation is concluded. I do pray for your soul. David

  4. dwwork says:

    No not everything new is bad but when you come up with some new ideas it helps to have more than your opinion to back it up.

    • Jn.17;26 I believe is the passage about Jesus making known to the world, the name of the Father. The whole point is, not necessarily to be polemical, but to try and make the point that Jesus is an allegorical representation of Judas. And if you don’t understand it, no harm done, because it’s not all that easy to write about. But my own personal belief is that someday soon everyone will know.

  5. dwwork says:

    If that is what you believe then ok. However if you are trying to get people to have the same belief then you need evidence other than your opinion. That is what I have been trying to get from you. That Jesus is an allegory for anything or anyone just does not stand up to the evidence.Opinions without evidence is just that an opinion but not something to base one’s eternal destiny on. I feel you will be disappointed about everyone coming to your beliefs about Jesus and Judas but I wish you well. I will continue to pray that you will find the truth. David

Leave a Reply

