Did the Bible Copy From Pagan Virgin Birth Myths?

Another great post from my friend’s blog. Atheists who claim to be devoted to reason above all else seem to have a difficult time putting it into practice.

Thomistic Bent

I bought a copy of atheist Christopher Hitchens’ book God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything. I always buy these books from used bookstores, mainly because I refuse to have any of my money go to support the atheists. In this particular used copy, the person who had it before me made some notes on a slip of paper and left it in the book. One of the notes says “p. 23 Cites 11 virgin births from various mythic histories, including an Aztec case.”

To summarize, Hitchens completely misses the facts on almost all of his points and may have plagiarized the entire passage.  Even if his facts were correct, which they are not, he is guilty of not drawing valid arguments and conclusions. Supporting details are as follows.

On p. 22-23 of the book, Hitchens’ passage is as follows. He first quotes Matthew 1:18 then adds some comments.

“Now the birth…

View original post 1,398 more words

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did the Bible Copy From Pagan Virgin Birth Myths?

  1. Hi David, I’m not sure how it happened but I discovered I was not following you, I checked when I hadn’t received any of your Posts.

    Having been an Atheist for nearly 30 years because of being deceived as a young Teenager that I came from an Ape and also having been involved in a Ministry to Atheists and Cult members, I know a lot of their arguments but one thing Atheists can’t refute is when they say there is no God and when your dead your dead, I ask them have they died and can say positively there was nothing after death, No, God, No Heaven, No Hell, they than delete me, or I remain being moderated and also blocked, or if speaking to them personally, abused, called mad and laughed at but no answer, although some have asked if I have died and come back, I say no but share about the evidence in Scripture that shows God is indeed real and that Darwin’s theory of Evolution would have been impossible, once again I’m deleted or ignored, I wonder why, if they are so sure I’m wrong, where is their evidence.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  2. dwwork says:

    Anne, Their problem is there is no evidence to support their atheism. For a long time I too believed that Darwin was right but about 20 years ago I set out to show that evolution and the Bible could be harmonized. I failed. the more I looked the more I cam to realize that the so called proofs of evolution were in fact wrong. Yes I have been made fun of by unbelievers but if they hang around long enough they eventually get tiered and drift away. I have found that the so called champions of reason are the ones who use reason the least. Of course getting cursed at and made fun of is inconsequential to what Jesus endured for us. Any time you feel led to add to the comments of atheists on my blog please feel free. Maybe a seed will start to grow. Have a blessed day, David

  3. Thank you David, I have no doubt that God has all the answers we need in Scripture to refute the evil of Evolution teaching and He has shown me this is True and just as you said the Evolution theory does not have any evidence that supports it long term, have you noticed how they keep changing their findings including the missing link.. God is the same Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow.

    I have written a few Posts in reference to Creation and Evolution if wanted, we have nothing to fear all will be known in God’s time, even mysteries.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore: for there is nothing covered, that shall not be revealed; and hid, that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in light: and what ye hear in the ear, that preach ye upon the housetops (perhaps our Computers) (KJV)

    1 John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is Truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in Him.

    Blessings – Anne

Leave a Reply

