Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?

“Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you? Everyone who comes to me and hears my words and does them, I will show you what he is like: he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid the foundation on the rock. And when a flood arose, the stream broke against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built. But the one who hears and does not do them is like a man who built a house on the ground without a foundation. When the stream broke against it, immediately it fell, and the ruin of that house was great.” Luke 6:46-49

Boy, can I shout guilty as charged to today’s verses. How often have I done just the opposite of what Jesus would want me to do while at the same time proclaiming Him Lord. We all fall down from time to time letting our desires get the better of us but I think today Jesus is specifically talking to those who proclaim the name Jesus while all the time worshiping someone of thing that is totally not Jesus.

These people who proclaim Jesus while ignoring who He really is or the Gospel He preached have figuratively built their religious house on a bed of sand rather than the rock that is Jesus. The want Jesus’ identity but not the things that go with identifying with Jesus. Sometimes they make Jesus an angel other times they make Jesus a second god then other times they want Jesus to be an idea rather than a real person. All these variations on Jesus are just building houses on sand.

But a real follower of Jesus has a house built on a solid foundation, the Rock of Jesus. Building your life on Jesus’ rock means you can weather the storms that life throws at you. Even when the ground shakes you find yourself on the solid ground of Christ. Nothing in this world or the next can harm you.

Living near the coastal area of Texas I can readily see how storms can affect the houses built along the coast. Hurricanes wash away the sand and suddenly a house topples into the Gulf. But as you get further from the coast the homes have a firm foundation and while the winds blow and the waters rise the house still stands.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and not do what I tell you?

  1. Yes very True David, there will be those who will say Lord, Lord and Jesus will send them away and the Scriptures below tell us why.

    Matthew 25: 41-45 Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee?Then shall he answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me.And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.

    1 John 3:16-18 Hereby perceive we the Love of God, because He laid down His life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother have need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the Love of God in him? My little children, let us not Love in word, neither in tongue; but in Deed and in Truth.(KJV)

    1 John 3:13-15 Marvel not, my brethren, if the world hate you. We know that we have passed from death unto life, because we Love the brethren. He that Loveth not his brother abideth in death.Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him.(KJV)

    1 John 4:6-8 We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the Spirit of Truth, and the spirit of error. Beloved, let us Love one another for Love is of God and every one that Loveth is Born of God, and knoweth God. He that Loveth not knoweth not God; for God is Love.(KJV)

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

Leave a Reply

