Jesus’ Mother and Brothers

Then his mother and his brothers came to him, but they could not reach him because of the crowd. And he was told, “Your mother and your brothers are standing outside, desiring to see you.” But he answered them, “My mother and my brothers are those who hear the word of God and do it.” Luke 8:19-21

Sounds like some very harsh words for Jesus in today’s verses. I have heard people say that Jesus was rejecting His family. How could Jesus talk that way about His mother? But rather than words of rejection maybe they are really words of inclusion. The harsh reality is that some of us will be separated for family members in the next life. We may not like it but that is the reality of Jesus.

Those who hear His words and then put them into action will be His family. This will be a family that will be together for all eternity. But many, perhaps most people, will reject Jesus’ words and those people will not be in His family. They will be separated from us for all eternity. We may think that is unfair but everyone who seeks God will be able to find Him.

It may make us uncomfortable to think that our loved ones will not be in heaven with us but that should cause us to make sure we have shared Jesus with them. We also need to realize that while we can share we cannot make them believe. Many people refuse to believe no matter how much evidence there is. Their hearts have been hardened against God.

We also need to know that God will never force anyone to come to Him. All who chose to live their lives on earth without God will be allowed to live their eternal lives without God. Jesus wasn’t denying Mary and His brothers nor was He saying they were not His family. He was making a point that all who chose to follow Him are His family.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus’ Mother and Brothers

  1. Yes I agree with you David, and we are never to judge anyone’s eternal Destiny because they may come to heart repentance on their deathbed by the good seeds that have been planted in their life ,like the thief on the cross did. So I never fear or worry they will be lost, I don’t know so it is pointless but I pray for opportunities to share with them so there will be good seeds planted. I believe this was why I started Blogging, it was not my choice at first but I am not sorry now even with all the ups and downs because it has given me opportunity to share God’s Truth that leads to eternal Hope for those, as you said, who accept it.

    The Scriptures confirm we will not remember the things of earth so we won’t know if those close to us are not with us in Heaven , if we did we would grieve and there is only Joy in Heaven.

    Christian Love from both of us -Anne

  2. dwwork says:

    Anne, great point. I often refer to the thief on the cross when asked about if works are needed and as you wrote last minute acceptance of Jesus. Still praying for your healing. Blessings to both of you, David

    • Thank you David for your prayers, I have been in pain most of the week, I had a very painful procedure done on Friday and still have the numbing affects of the Anaesthetic. . when it wears off the pain will return but only Temporally, I thank God for all His Healing tools, giving Thanks as I remember He is the only healer.

      I was wondering David if you would write a message about the Jezebel spirit, I asked another Pastor and will ask a few others too but no pressure just as you feel lead, there seems to be a lot of misunderstanding about this warning in Scripture and some will be deceived by it. One Post even claimed if your chronically sick or have been abused or seek to be friends, you have the Jezebel spirit, it’s a worry!

      The way we know is their response to Love for God and others, if this is complete they will have God’s Truth as empowered by The Holy Spirit having asked for and received His wisdom and believing they have as they are lead by Jesus into all Truth. Satan does not know God’s Truth, he does not have The Holy Spirit , he is a liar and deceiver, we must always Trust in the confirmation of Scripture as discerned by the Spirit.

      Blessings – Anne

Leave a Reply

