Someone touched me

Now when Jesus returned, the crowd welcomed him, for they were all waiting for him. And there came a man named Jairus, who was a ruler of the synagogue. And falling at Jesus’ feet, he implored him to come to his house, for he had an only daughter, about twelve years of age, and she was dying. As Jesus went, the people pressed around him. And there was a woman who had had a discharge of blood for twelve years, and though she had spent all her living on physicians, she could not be healed by anyone. She came up behind him and touched the fringe of his garment, and immediately her discharge of blood ceased. And Jesus said, “Who was it that touched me?” When all denied it, Peter said, “Master, the crowds surround you and are pressing in on you!” But Jesus said, “Someone touched me, for I perceive that power has gone out from me.” And when the woman saw that she was not hidden, she came trembling, and falling down before him declared in the presence of all the people why she had touched him, and how she had been immediately healed. And he said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace.” Luke 8:40-48

“Someone touched me”, ever hear something similar from the back seat of your car? I know I have and after the third or fourth time my response would be “don’t make me stop this car.” I have to confess that I most likely was guilty of the “he touched me” refrain when I was a kid. It seems no matter how large the vehicle on a long road trip with young children you will hear that phrase at some time. Maybe not as much as “are we there yet” but it seems one or the other is always touching.

In today’s verses we see that Jesus has been approached by Jairus a leader in the local synagogue. Jairus’ daughter is sick and close to dying and as any father will do Jairus is seeking out someone who can help his child. Jesus went with Jairus to his house and a large crowd followed. It seemed everyone wanted to get close to Jesus. I imagine it was similar to celebrities today where everybody wants to shake their hand and just maybe get them to do something for them. Today it would be to get a photo with the celebrity but with the crowd around Jesus many were looking to be healed.

In this crowd was a woman who had been losing blood for twelve years. She had spent all her money on doctors but none of them were able to give her any relief. She just knew if she could only touch Jesus’ robe she would be healed. Eventually she managed to get that close and touched His robe. Jesus immediately asks who had touched Him. And Peter being Peter says Master we are in a crowd of course someone touched you. In fact many have touched you. Let’s face it you cannot be in a large crowd without being touched.

But this was more than a mere touch. This woman believed that all she had to do was get close to Jesus and she would be healed. We have no clue how many in the crowd touched Jesus but it seems only one had the faith to know that touch would bring healing. I imagine she was scared but she came forward to admit she had touched Jesus and to let them know she had been healed. The power of God had reached out from Jesus to heal this woman. But it was her faith that led her to Jesus to be healed. That same faith will lead every believer to eternal healing in heaven.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

