Do not fear; only believe

While he was still speaking, someone from the ruler’s house came and said, “Your daughter is dead; do not trouble the Teacher anymore.” But Jesus on hearing this answered him, “Do not fear; only believe, and she will be well.” And when he came to the house, he allowed no one to enter with him, except Peter and John and James, and the father and mother of the child. And all were weeping and mourning for her, but he said, “Do not weep, for she is not dead but sleeping.” And they laughed at him, knowing that she was dead. But taking her by the hand he called, saying, “Child, arise.” And her spirit returned, and she got up at once. And he directed that something should be given her to eat. And her parents were amazed, but he charged them to tell no one what had happened. Luke 8:49-56

What do you fear? I have a slight fear of heights except when I have my camera in hand. I am not a big fan of rats especially after one jumped out of a box I was taking down from the rafters in my garage. Almost fell of the ladder. Snakes and spiders do not really bother me with the exception of the rattlesnake I encountered at the top of Guadalupe Mountain on afternoon when I was there by myself. Something I do not fear is my death. At least not since I fully realized what it means to be a follower of Jesus.

In first century Palestine death was to be feared. These people had no guarantee what would happen after they died. For all most of them knew this life was it and death was nothing more than rotting in a dark grave. When a loved one died they had no assurance they would ever see them again. It was this fear that drove Jairus to ask Jesus to heal his daughter. She was near death and after he had tried everything else he turned to Jesus for help.

It seems like that happened a lot. We try everything we can think of and only when all our efforts fail only then do we turn to Jesus. So Jesus is heading the Jairus’ house and they are met at the door with the news that Jesus is too late and the little girl has died. But Jesus who gives life told them that the girl was only sleeping. He was laughed at.

Jesus took her hand and told her to arise and the girl was alive again. It is amazing what can happen when we take Jesus’ hand. Believers are assured that our deaths here on earth are temporary. We too will rise again and then live for all eternity in the presence of God. Fear death? No Christian should ever fear death because rather than en ending it is only the beginning.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

