They did not understand this saying

But while they were all marveling at everything he was doing, Jesus said to his disciples, “Let these words sink into your ears: The Son of Man is about to be delivered into the hands of men.” But they did not understand this saying, and it was concealed from them, so that they might not perceive it. And they were afraid to ask him about this saying. Luke 9:43b-45

Sometimes I know I think how could the disciples not know that Jesus had to die. With today’s verses Luke has recounted two times Jesus has told them about Hi impending death. Yet it just did not sink in. Even the night Jesus was arrested Peter tries to resist and keep Jesus from being arrested. But then I think would I have been any different? Probably not.

I say this for two reasons. I think the most important reason is the Jewish idea of what the Messiah was to do. When the Jews of Jesus’ time read Isaiah 61 they did not stop where Jesus had stopped when he read for Isaiah in the synagogue they read through what we call the forth verse which reads

“The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me to bring good news to the poor; he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound; to proclaim the year of the LORD’s favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to grant to those who mourn in Zion—           to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit; that they may be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he may be glorified. They shall build up the ancient ruins; they shall raise up the former devastations; they shall repair the ruined cities, the devastations of many generations. Isaiah 61:1-4 ESV”

And they dwelt on the last two verses. For them the Messiah meant the end of their oppression. They were looking for an earthly king who would free them from Rome and rule over them. Israel would be returned to her greatness. They could not see the Messiah dying.

Then there is the whole idea of a resurrection. Yes, they had seen Jesus raise people from the dead but they had never witnessed or even heard of anyone raising themselves from the dead. Dead was dead and how could the Messiah free Israel from bondage if He was dead? Think about it. What if your mentor or person you admired told you what Jesus told the disciples. You would have to admit it would be very hard to believe.

I think in the future I need to cut these twelve men some slack and not be too quick to judge their actions. Especially since I am not sure I would have done or behaved any different. The lesson I take from here is not to be so quick to judge. Until I find myself under the same circumstances maybe I can reserve judgment. Just because someone has a harder time to believe than I do does not make them worse than me. They may well have been hurt in the past by a well-meaning believer or maybe by a father who abused them. A lot of people view God the same as they view their own father. Rather than judge I need to show them the love of God. I need to show them that my heavenly father is a loving father. And I need to be patient with them.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

