The kingdom of God has come near

After this the Lord appointed seventy-two others and sent them on ahead of him, two by two, into every town and place where he himself was about to go. And he said to them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few. Therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest. Go your way; behold, I am sending you out as lambs in the midst of wolves. Carry no moneybag, no knapsack, no sandals, and greet no one on the road. Whatever house you enter, first say, ‘Peace be to this house!’ And if a son of peace is there, your peace will rest upon him. But if not, it will return to you. And remain in the same house, eating and drinking what they provide, for the laborer deserves his wages. Do not go from house to house. Whenever you enter a town and they receive you, eat what is set before you. Heal the sick in it and say to them, ‘The kingdom of God has come near to you.’ But whenever you enter a town and they do not receive you, go into its streets and say, ‘Even the dust of your town that clings to our feet we wipe off against you. Nevertheless know this, that the kingdom of God has come near.’ I tell you, it will be more bearable on that day for Sodom than for that town. Luke 10:1-12

In today’s verses we see that Jesus has sent an additional 72 disciples out to the towns and villages He will be traveling through to spread the word about Jesus and that the kingdom of God had come. Once again they are to take nothing with them except for the cloths they wore. They are to eat what is served in the homes they stay and bless those who receive them.

However, if they are not welcomed in a town they are to publicly kick the dust off their feet and tell them that even though they did not believe or welcome it the kingdom of God has come near.” Then Jesus adds that Sodom will be better off when the judgment comes than that town who had the chance but refused Jesus and His envoy.

We all know the story of Sodom and how they rejected God and became a city where anything went. They were as ungodly a city as ever was and yet Jesus says these towns that did not receive Him would be worse off. Sodom had forgotten God and drifted away from His laws and precepts. They had lost contact with God and in doing so had fallen into the worst sin and debauchery. But these towns rejected God come down to earth. They were Jewish towns who knew about the Messiah and when He was to come yet they refused to believe.

I think Jesus is telling us that there is a bigger price to pay for those who have the information they need to believe but still refuse to believe. I think that is especially true today. No one has the excuse that they did not know about Jesus, especially in the West. There is so much information about Jesus that one has to make an effort to avoid hearing about Jesus.

For anyone who seeks God, God will provide a way for them to get the information they need to come to a decision to follow Him. But for those who refuse Him, they will stand at the judgment relying on their own works and will be found wanting. Now some will cry that their good outweighed the bad but I think a recent trial in Houston is a good example of that logic. A doctor and cancel researcher was accused of poising her lover and was found guilty. Her lawyers argued for leniency because all the good work she had done attending cancer patients. The jury however found that even with all the good works the one bad thing was enough to sentence her to ten years in prison. We are not judged on how the good and bad balance out but because we are sinners. Even one sin is enough for judgment. Just as breaking one law can send us to prison so one sin can cause us to be banished from God’s presence. But we have a way out. All we need do is call on Jesus and accept Him as Lord and savior. Then we will be judged not on our own works but on what Jesus had done. His righteousness will be imputed on us and God will remember our sins no more.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The kingdom of God has come near

  1. David before I comment I want to say thank you for your willingness to listen to what I share and for your encouragement too on my Blog and in your replies to my comments, as you know I don’t share without confirmation of Scripture which I often include, thank you for taking the time to read both.

    Yes as you said David the unforgivable sin is rejecting Jesus, if we reject the one who forgives us how can we be forgiven.

    When the Disciples wiped the dust of their shoes, they were also showing that they didn’t take the rejection to heart, we need to do the same with Atheists who abuse us and Cult members but we need to also pray that good seeds will be planted in their hearts just in case they were deceived like I was when I was told I came from an Ape as a young person and Jesus and the Bible were just made up.

    David as we can see in the Scripture below in reference to those who will say Lord, Lord but still be sent away by Jesus, we will be answerable for the good works we have done or not done, all good things come from God even our motivation to do good, yes we still have a choice but we will want to help others if we have the Holy Spirit, yes it is OK when people thank us for our kindness but we also give thanks to God, because we too are blessed when we help others and what we do for them we are doing for Jesus.

    Matthew 25: 41-45 Then shall he say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee?Then shall he answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me.And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.

    1 John 3:16-18 Hereby perceive we the Love of God, because He laid down His life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother have need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the Love of God in him? My little children, let us not Love in word, neither in tongue; but in Deed and in Truth.(KJV)

    Christian Love in our Unity in Christ Jesus – Anne.

  2. dwwork says:

    Anne, I always enjoy your comments. I have had a few exchanges with atheists on my blog and I view them as a change to tell them the truth and why I believe it is the truth. Sometime some get angry but I do not think they are angry with me but with the truth I share. All I pray for is that something I write will cause them to doubt their own beliefs and hopefully look further into the truth that is God’s. have a blessed day, David.

Leave a Reply

