Ben Witherington and Darrell Bock on the Rapture

Follow up on Veracity’s previous post. While there is disagreement on what and when of the Second Coming what is important to note is agreement that Jesus will return. Have a blessed day, David

Veracity

If you were a bit intimidated by my last (lengthy) post regarding the Book of Revelation, including its connection to the Rapture, you might be more interested in the following less-than-seven minute video by Ben Witherington, New Testament scholar at Asbury Seminary. Witherington, who was highlighted before here on Veracity, gets to the rub of the history behind the Rapture.

Witherington, as you will see, concludes with a negative assessment of “Rapture Theology.” Contrast this with Dallas Theological Seminary’s Darrell Bock who accepts the “Rapture Theology.” For those of you not accustomed to big words like eschatology, you can think of it in this context as someone’s understanding or theology of the “End Times.” Bock, also a New Testament scholar and a favorite here on Veracity, follows his brief assessment with a very helpful, three-minute way of evaluating how Christians should handle important issues in the…

View original post 11 more words

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ben Witherington and Darrell Bock on the Rapture

  1. Sorry David but these men don’t believe in the world wide Flood as a reality and they reject the Scriptures that confirms it and also God’s own words, instead they Trust in their own understanding or others, which means I would find it very hard to take to heart when they share about other Bible happenings, so I won’t try but I would be very interested if you shared your understanding of the Rapture David, which we know is mentioned in Revelation a few times and also in Luke but of course it is not called the Rapture which is a relatively new word like the Trinity which is called The Godhead in the Bible.

    Christian Love always from us both – Anne.

  2. dwwork says:

    Anne, I did not know that about either man and would ask that you point me to the source or their writing about scripture. i have read a number of Darrel Bock’s books and have not gotten that impression from his writings but I could easily have missed it as he is quite prolific I would find it odd as he is a professor at Dallas Theological Seminary and they are one of the more conservative seminaries there is. I have been blessed to have as pastors three graduated there as well as heard Tony Evans speak, also a graduate, many times. Sorry for the delay as I have been working long hours the past few weeks and just have time to post to my blog. As always, thanks for your comments and have a blessed day, David

    • Sorry for the confusion David, it is not Ben Witherington and Darrell Bock that I find do not confirm with Scripture, it is Veracity: If they reject Scripture than they will agree with those who say what they believe even if there is no Scripture for conformation . Ben and Darrell may not be in error but Veracity are and I prefer to spend my time reading recommendations from those who accept Scripture as being God’s Truth instead of Trusting in hearsay.

      I will look forward to your conformation of the Rapture David, it is very clear in Scripture as we know, although many miss it with not being able to read Revelation with Spiritual understanding, once again they Trust in what others tell them instead of Jesus our only Teacher.

      Blessings – Anne

  3. Yes John I do Love you both in Christ Jesus and David too enough to try and reach you, I was greatly saddened that you both ignored Scripture confirmation and Trusted in your own understanding, and yes you have responded but of course trying to make me feel guilty, I don’t. Paul warned others if needed about those who Trusted in man’s understanding not Gods, of course I can’t say this about all you believe but when you reject even one Scripture you are saying God is in error.

    I have heard so much misquoted Scripture applied to mans own understanding since I have been Blogging it is heart breaking, even David claims he will sin till he dies which is not confirmed in the Scriptures unless he is not Born Again and perfected in Love but of course he is not the only one who teaches this error but instead of accepting the Scripture, it is rejected for their own understanding.

    So John if you want to resolve our Differences like God tells us to, than you choose the time and place but be assured, I will not accept anything you say without Scripture confirmation and in context and with the empowering of The Holy Spirit 1Corinthians2:9-16 if you choose not to resolve our Differences, that will be your choice not mine.

    Christian Love Always in Christ Jesus – Anne

    • Clarke Morledge says:

      Anne,

      I read your comments here on David’s blog, as well on a previous post of David’s:

      https://dwwork.wordpress.com/2014/10/13/no-one-knows-who-the-son-is-except-the-father/

      Yes, the Holy Spirit did come upon the church following Pentecost in great power. But when you say that “Jesus is still teaching me but as He tells us we will know even mysteries,” several red flags go up for me, as this can be taken in a number of different ways. What it clearly does NOT mean in Scripture is the idea that some Christians will gain an “inside track” into a deeper understanding of the Bible that other Christians simply do not have. I know that you feel that you can not fully abide in what I have to say, but I hope you might hear the unfailing Word of God on this:

      As Paul teaches in 1 Cor. 13:12:

      “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

      Our knowledge of the things of God on this side of eternity is partial. Only when we have finished our calling on this earth will the full mysteries of God be revealed. The Holy Spirit does not provide “shortcuts” for some people in this earthly existence.

      Also, there is a sterner warning from Jesus on those who think they have the whole Bible “locked up” in their own understanding and yet miss the centrality of knowing Jesus in John 5:39-40:

      “Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me. And ye will not come to me, that ye might have life.”

      I could be easily be wrong in how I am perceiving you in what you write. I am prone to err. God does not err. Yet we do great harm in the Body of Christ when some confuse their own fallible interpretation of the Bible with God’s infallible Truth. So I would be careful, as this is not merely hubris, it is spiritually dangerous.

      I am not trying to make you “feel guilty.” Rather, I would simply encourage you to rethink your posture on these matters.

      I do not wish to hijack David’s thread here, so if you want a more detailed exposition as to what is at stake, I would direct you here:

      http://sharedveracity.net/2014/10/27/agreeing-to-disagree/

  4. dwwork says:

    Anne, I am confused. Are you saying you are no longer a sinner? If so I must disagree with you. Paul writes in 1 Timothy, “The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost.””.(1 Timothy 1:15 ESV) In this verse Paul writes in the present tense. God also tells us that Surely there is not a righteous man on earth who does good and never sins.”(Ecclesiastes 7:20 ESV) One cannot be righteous unless they are right with God IS saved. I have never been taught in any church I have attended that we stop sinning once we are saved. Surely we will sin less and we will not seek out sinful ways but we are still in our sinful flesh. Hopefully I have misunderstood your last comment as it referred to sin. Finally, I do not have to agree with every stance a Christian brother or sister has to believe that are saved or to be in communion with them.What is the utmost importance it that they follow Jesus and call Him Lord and Savior. Have a blessed day, David

Leave a Reply

