The things you have prepared, whose will they be?

Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the inheritance with me.” But he said to him, “Man, who made me a judge or arbitrator over you?” And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.” And he told them a parable, saying, “The land of a rich man produced plentifully, and he thought to himself, ‘What shall I do, for I have nowhere to store my crops?’ And he said, ‘I will do this: I will tear down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I will say to my soul, “Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; relax, eat, drink, be merry.” ’ But God said to him, ‘Fool! This night your soul is required of you, and the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ So is the one who lays up treasure for himself and is not rich toward God.” Luke 12:13-21

In today’s society we tend to measure a person’s worth by how many things they have. Who has the biggest house or is driving the newest and most expensive car. We almost want to have our net worth tattooed on our forehead for all the world to know how well we are doing. Too often we live by the credo that he who dies with the most toys wins. Yet what exactly do all our possessions win for us?

In the end the billionaire and the pauper end up in a box in the ground. The most either takes with them are the cloths they are buried in. And for the most part in a hundred years both will be equally remembered. No matter how much or what we manage to accumulate we are all destined for death. Someone else will benefit from our treasures. Maybe our children or grandchildren but possibly it will be the government who gets most if not all of it.

In today’s verses Jesus tells the crowd about a man who upon seeing how much he had builds bigger building to store all he has only to be told by God that he is to die that very night. Everything he had worked for would be enjoyed by someone else and he would miss out on the one most important thing we all need to do in this life, become reconciled with God.

We can never know how much time we have left on this earth. It can be a matter of minutes or a matter of years. If we spend our time on earthly pursuits thinking we can get right with God later, latter may never get here. It seems that a day does not pass that some young person is killed in an accident. They left their house full of hope and never returned. No matter what your age the first thing you need to do is make sure you are right with God.

God’s gift of His grace and eternal life is just that, eternal. Most of us today will live for 80, 90 maybe 100 years but that is less than an eye blink in the eternal. The only thing we can take into eternity is God’s gift of eternal life. Everything else will be left behind to gather dust and decay. Our money will be spent and our possessions will break down. Soon nothing we leave behind will exist. But if you have made the decision to follow Christ, that is eternal. That will last and that you can take with you.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of Luke and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

