There Is A God by Antony Flew and Roy Abraham Varghese

It has been a while since I last posted a book review and I thought this would be a perfect one to start up again. My friends at the Veracity blog and my friend at Thomistic Bent have been exploring proofs and arguments for and against God. You can find links to both blogs on the bottom right side of my blog. I highly recommend both.

For those unfamiliar with Antony Flew, he was the foremost atheist defender and apologist of the last half of the twentieth century. He wrote many books defending atheism as well as books on philosophy. Then in 2007 There is a God was published and the atheist world went berserk. A quick glance at the negative reviews on Amazon tells us how Flew’s conversion from atheist to theist rocked their world. Some attacked Flew as falling into dotage at best and losing his mind at worst. Others that the book is a hoax written not by Flew but by Varghese. From most of these review it is unclear is any of them actually read the book. But I guess I can see how they were affected. How would Christians react if Billy Graham wrote a book called There Is No God?

If one actually reads There is a God one sees two distinct writing styles. The bulk of the book seems to me to match Flew’s style in other books of his that I have read. The introduction and the appendices however show a much different style. Now for some insider information that I received long before this book was published.

In July 2004 I took a class on the resurrection from Gary Habermas that was taught at Southern Evangelical Seminary. The first day of the class Doctor Habermas shared with the class some news about Antony Flew. Habermas and Flew were good friends and often debated each other. What Habermas shared in 2004 was that Flew was now convinced that a God did exist. Now in 2004 atheists around the world still though of Flew as sound of mind.

So what caused one of the leading atheist philosophers of the day to move from atheism to theism? Flew was convinced by the fine tuning of the universe, the teleological proof of God and more importantly to Flew the Anthropic principle. My summer of this argument for God can be found here https://dwwork.wordpress.com/2012/09/08/does-god-exist-part-3-a-brief-look-at-the-arguments/

In his book Flew walks us through his commitment to atheism and why he denied the divine. He then goes on the write of how through reason he became convinced that there was indeed a God. Flew did not become a Christian but he did recognize that the universe we live in needed a creator. Antony Flew came to believe in God by carefully examining the evidence and using reason came to the conclusion that there is indeed a God.

Why should a Christian read There is a God? I read it because it gave me insight on how a person goes from denying God to accepting God as real and the creator of the universe. Once someone accepts the existence of God then the evidence for Christianity can lead them to the final step of accepting Christ.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Arguments for God, Book Review, Comentary and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There Is A God by Antony Flew and Roy Abraham Varghese

  1. John Paine says:

    I had the pleasure of meeting Gary Habermas at last year’s National Conference on Christian Apologetics (while checking in to our hotel). What a delightful person. His plenary session at the conference was powerful and memorable. That must have been some class at SES.

Leave a Reply

