Do you totally understand Gods Word?

A few days ago I started reading Hugh Ross’ book A Matter of Days which takes a look at the Young Earth/ Old Earth views of creation. I will review this book once I have finished. In reading I cam across something he wrote that caused me to pause and give what was written a lot of thought. Ross stated that part of the problem with discussing these different views of creation was that some feel that have a complete understanding of the Bible and what God is saying and there is no further need of any discussion. That strikes me as the height of hubris.

I have fallen from that height myself so I know of what I speak. I grew up in the Lutheran church and though we were not there every time the doors opened I felt I had a great religions background. I knew what I believed and why and I felt I had a complete understanding of the Bible. I knew what was and was not in there. Or so I thought. Now I had not read the entire Bible but I was sure that our pastors had covered everything. I was not opposed to making fun of those who believed thing I just knew were not in the Bible.

Then on a challenge from one of the adult Sunday school teachers in the church we were attending I sat down to read the Bible from cover to cover. Guess what? I was wrong about many things. Things that I was sure were in the Bible were not, the rapture for one example, and things I was sure were in there were not, God helps those who help themselves as another example. Since that time I have read the Bible multiple times and listened to the Bible even more times.

What I have found is that my ignorance knows no bounds. Every time I read God’s Word I learn something new. Every time I gain new insights and knowledge. Now I truly believe I will continue to learn more and more as long as I live. I have also gained a new respect of how others interpret God’s Word. No longer am I quick to dismiss their ideas. God may have shown them something I have yet to discover. And even when I find they are mistaken just the process to see if they are correct helps me understand the Bible better.

We all need to take what others tell us about God and His Word and test what they say against what God says. When someone disagrees with the Word we need to go to them in humbleness and love and gently correct them showing them what God says. We also need to avail ourselves of the resources available to us always of course taking these resources and testing them against God’s Word. Also we need to be aware of the biases of the writers we read.

Paul tells us “but test everything; hold fast what is good.” (1 Thessalonians 5:21 ESV) and Jon tells us “Test the Spirits Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world.” (1 John 4:1 ESV)

If you feel you are correct and everyone else is wrong I would ask you to go back to the Word and interpret what you believe against the entirety of God’s Word. Also, when someone disagrees with you acknowledge that good people can disagree on certain points of biblical interpretation but that does not mean we need break fellowship with them. For example, predestination verses free will, end times prophesy or young verses old earth creation. These things have nothing to do with salvation. If I believe in a young earth and you believe in an old earth neither of us are more saved than the other. As long as we both believe in God, Jesus and His atoning death and resurrection we can break bread and fellowship and maybe have some lively debates but still recognize that we are one in Christ.

For those who still think they have the inside track on knowing God’s word I close with this from Paul, “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known. So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love. (1 Corinthians 13:12-13 ESV)

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Comentary, God, Paul's letters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you totally understand Gods Word?

  1. It is not Godly Love to agree with man’s error David, when we do we are saying God is wrong and that He did not inspire all Scripture (2 Timothy 3 -17) there is only one Truth and that is His and The Holy Spirit does not contradict His Truth, even if fleshy man doesn’t understand it. I have read the Bible many times but not always with understanding because I was Trusting in my own or in others, fleshy wisdom, reasoning and logic, Jesus is our only Teacher through the empowering of The Holy Spirit and He will lead us into all Truth not a man or a woman.

    1John 2:26-28 These things have I written unto you concerning them that seduce you. But the anointing which ye have received of Him abideth in you and ye need not that any man teach you but as the same anointing Teacheth you of all things and is Truth and is no lie and even as it hath Taught you ye shall abide in Him.

    I have shared on my Blog how I was confused (see link below) and how God showed me how to recognize His Truth and man’s error, yes Jesus is still teaching me, I’m not yet Perfected in Love but I’m aiming for it as Paul did putting his past behind and his carnal flesh to death, until he was Perfected in Love and he was before he died like other Saints in the Church were but until Paul was Perfected he did not know all that was Ordained by God (1Corinthians13:10 ) but he knew what was needed for that time and his words and Authority came from God not man. (1Corinthians2)

    Confusion- http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/06/16/my-battle-with-confusion/

    John 16:13 -15. Howbeit when He, the Spirit of Truth, is come, He will guide you into all truth: for He shall not speak of Himself but whatsoever He shall hear, that shall He speak: and He will show you things to come. He shall glorify me: for He shall receive of mine, and shall show it unto you. All things that the Father hath are mine: therefore said I, that He shall take of mine and shall show it unto you.

    Matthew 10:26-28 Fear them not therefore; for there is nothing covered that shall not be revealed and hid that shall not be known. What I tell you in darkness, that speak ye in Light and what ye hear in the ear that preach ye upon the housetops (KJV)

    Words have changed over the years David and Translating from one language to another can cause confusion. The Trinity was called The Godhead in the original Greek, Dinosaurs were called Dragons and we read about them in Job and other Scriptures, Aids is also mentioned in Scripture and D.N.A but not by these names and so is the Rapture, it is called the First Sickle in Revelation.

    We are not to agree to disagree David, this is not Godly Love and is also disobedience to what God tells us to do when we have differences (see below) it ends in disunity like arguing and is why we have so many different Denominations and House Churches today, God is a God of Unity not division.

    1Corinthians 1: 10 -11 Now I beseech you, brethren, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that ye all speak the same thing, and that there be no divisions among you but that ye be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment.

    Philippians 3:14-16 I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus. Let us therefore, as many as be Perfect, be thus minded and if in any thing ye be otherwise minded God shall reveal even this unto you. Nevertheless, where to we have already attained let us walk by the same rule, let us mind the same thing.

    Philippians 2:1-3 If there be therefore any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of Love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any bowels and mercies, Fulfil ye my Joy, that ye be likeminded, having the same Love, being of one accord, of one mind. Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.

    Corinthians 13:11 Finally, brethren, farewell. Be Perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in Peace; and the God of Love and Peace shall be with you.

    1 Peter 3:7-9 Finally, be ye all of one mind, having Compassion one of another, Love as brethren, be pitiful, be courteous.

    But I have shared all the above with you before David on your Blog or on mine and you left a Like on mine and sometimes a comment, so you must have agreed with what I shared, yes some others who leave a Like, do so we will visit them, they are not really interested in what we share, thankfully not all are like them and I believe you are a Man of Integrity. What is unloving that some Bloggers do is deliberately ignoring and rejecting comments or deleting them without Scriptural confirmation they are in error.

    Until Love is genuine there can be no real understanding of God’s Truth, we are to ask for His wisdom and empowering and not doubt we have received them and than and only than can we correctly Test the spirit of those who seek to teach us and yes if needed rebuke those who sin and correct error in others understanding, in Love and for the Love of The Body of Christ but like Jesus, Paul and others, it may need to be to the point and with firmness.

    Colossians 2 :2 -3 That their hearts might be comforted being knit together in Love and unto all riches of the full assurance of understanding to the acknowledgement of the mystery of God and of the Father and of Christ in whom are hid all the Treasures of wisdom and knowledge.

    Christian Love Always, and not fleshy mans – Anne.

Leave a Reply

