Twelve Points That Show Christianity is True, A Handbook on Defending the Faith by Norman L. Geisler – Book review

Over the past month I have been catching up on my reading as well as reading some new books. Today I will start reviews of three E-books I found for my Kindle app on my tablet. As far as I can tell these short works are not available in paper editions. While I have been a convert to e-reading I still love books I can hold in my hands. But being Able to take multiple books with me using one devise the size of a large paperback has its appeal.

Twelve Points That Show Christianity is True, A Handbook on Defending the Faith is a nice summary of Norman Geisler’s twelve step apologetics method that can be found in such titles by Geisler as I Don’t Have Enough Faith to be an Atheists which I have reviewed on this blog. Twelve Points covers everything Geisler covers in his other books on apologetic but in a more concise form. For me it is nice to have this in a form I can access from my tablet or phone either as a refresher or to help someone else when they have a question about how to go about defending the faith.

Twelve Points starts with the fact that truth is knowable moves on the reason and then that a theistic God does exists. He then demonstrates that miracles are possible and then uses this to show that miracles can be used to confirm a message from God. He moves on the show that the New testament documents are reliable before moving us to how these documents as well As the miracles He did confirm Jesus as God.

My friends at Veracity did a great job moving through these points in some of their recent post on apologetics. Some of you may ask why we need to go through twelve steps in order to get someone to accept God. The reason is that in today’s culture we are told that there are no absolute truths, that all truth is relative. Too many today do not believe that God exists and therefor how could the Bible be God’s Word. Many time we need to get people to accept some things that to past generations were self-evident in order to get them to open their minds to God and Jesus. There is a lot of cultural baggage we need to overcome in order to get many people to even open God’s Word.

When I have taught classes on Christian Apologetics we would not even open the Bible until we had gotten past showing how truth is absolute, that God exists and that the New Testament documents are reliable. Once you get people to this point then you can use the Bible to open their eyes to the truth. Until that point you may only get blank looks or outright hostility.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Book Review, Comentary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twelve Points That Show Christianity is True, A Handbook on Defending the Faith by Norman L. Geisler – Book review

  1. John Paine says:

    Thanks David for the kind words. Norman Geisler is an amazing author and teacher. Marion, several friends, and I have enjoyed his presentations at the National Conference on Christian Apologetics in Charlotte over the past two years. Any chance we could meet up with the Works this October? 🙂

  2. dwwork says:

    John, I did but did not see any emails from you. Also checked my spam folder. Did you use davidtoo@aol.com? David

Leave a Reply

